Friday’s Feast in a Nutshell

April 20, 2007

Friday’s Feast

Feast One Hundred & Forty

Appetizer
What is your favorite kind of bread?

We just had a wonderful Irish sweet bread that had raisins. It was a heavy and moist. Very good. But then again I love bread of most any kind.

Soup
When was the last time you bought a new pillow?

I bought new pillows when Willi’s mom came for Christmas. I wanted her to have a nice fresh one. It’s about time for the rest of them to be replaced though.

Salad
Approximately how many hours per week do you spend surfing the ‘net?

Does blogging count as surfing the net? Nah. Minus blogging, probably about 5 or 10 minutes average a night, depending on if I am looking for something or not.

Main Course
What’s the highest you remember your temperature being?

I don’t pay much attention to that, except I do know that when I was an infant I had an allergic reaction to the polio vaccine and had to be placed in an ice bath at the hospital. At least that is what my mom said. My vaccination scar is about the size of a silver dollar, even still.

Dessert
Fill in the blanks: When I hear music, I have to sing along. Can’t help it.

________________________________________


In a Nutshell

A place set aside to answer

201 autobiographical questions

from a mother for her daughter.

This may take awhile…join us if you like.


10. This person in my family was funnier than the rest:
I have really thought long and hard about this one. I keep coming up with one person, and that is Willi. He is the king of the corny joke. There is truly never a dull moment and now that we work in the same building I get it non-stop. The problem is my memory sucks about this kind of stuff. Many times we will have a conversation that is so off the wall I want to put it into a little dialogue like Tink does, but by the time I sit down I can’t get it quite right! I have even considered a little notebook. We’ll see. It seems like it ought to be written down somewhere for posterity though.

Often Willi’s humor comes so naturally that people don’t catch it until a few minutes later and then they have that “you got me” look on their faces as eyes roll. Yesterday two of the women I work with were standing in my office in front of my desk. As we were talking he came around the corner, stopped suddenly, slowly backed out of the doorway and said “I’m sorry. I’ll come back another time when the two of you aren’t in trouble.” Then he disappeared down the hallway. By the time they figured it out, he was gone. Usually what happens is people want to give him a reply until they realize what happened. Again.

This is what he did to the kids last Halloween. They didn’t know what to think.

hallowen-onions.jpg

Once his sons were here riding their bikes in front of the house doing tricks. The next thing I see is Willi riding down the hill, kneeling on the seat of the bike, hands up in the air, with a cigar hanging out of his mouth. It’s amazing he was still all in one piece.

In the morning we read the paper together. If we find an article of interest we may read it out loud. This is where he gets me big time if I’m not on my toes, because he editorializes. In other words, he reads the story and inserts his own words and sentences. He does it in such a smooth manner that sometimes I can’t tell where the article ends and he starts until it gets so wacky that even I don’t believe it.

So, I guess that although there have been many humorous times in my life over the years, the person that makes me laugh the most is Willi. For that I am grateful.

7 Responses to “Friday’s Feast in a Nutshell”

  1. Susan Says:

    Nothing better than someone with a smooth understated sense of humor! I love the halloween basket.

    Um…I didn’t know we didn’t have to count blogging as surfing time. Now I can be so much more guilt free!

  2. mjd Says:

    I love bread too. Irish bread with raisins is an excellent choice, but any warm home-baked bread is delicious.

    Willi is a funny and wonderful person.

  3. Ginnie Says:

    Good luck with your new site.


  4. Oh, I love bread, too. Just about any kind.

    Love the Halloween basket. Of course, I’d rather have the potatoes and onion than the candy.


  5. Oh, I love bread, too. Any kind!!

    Great Halloween basket. Of course, I’d rather have the potatoes and onion!

  6. Cazzie Says:

    I loved this whole entire post, it is wonderful to get to know people, their thoughts and their memories through their stories 🙂


  7. Sounds like Willi is as good to have around as a breath of fresh air.


Leave a Reply

