WWC: Service and Sacrifice

April 22, 2007

Courtesy of Odd Mix, the words are Service and Sacrifice.

Every Sunday as we drive out of the church parking lot, this is what I see. It has been there for as long as I have been going to MUMC. In fact it has been there for so long that I took it for granted. What I mean is that I quit noticing it. It was there as a reminder of a young life lost, but at some point it began to blend into the scenery that signified that the first half of my Sunday was over. And then it disappeared.

sign.jpg

Maybe today was different because my normal routine was disrupted. I had to return home for a bag of paint brushes that I had left on the counter in the kitchen. Or maybe it was because this morning’s paper recounted the funeral of Army Spc. Jason Beadles. It could have been because yesterday I looked into the gentle blue eyes of a young man, safely home from his year in Iraq, as he told me of the impending birth of his child. For whatever reason, as I pulled out of the parking lot the sign caught my eye once again.

 

sandersgregoryp.jpg

Service and Sacrifice.

This is Greg Sanders, He was 19 years old when he was killed by a sniper.

Aside from the obvious, there were two other thoughts that hurt my heart as I looked at this sign. The first was how the number of deaths had grown…

…and the second was that the numbers on the sign can be removed and updated as the toll grows larger.

 

Service and Sacrifice.

sign-close-up.jpg

9 Responses to “WWC: Service and Sacrifice”

  1. Cazzie Says:

    I cannot rid me of the shivers that I got when I looked at those numbers. So so sad that young boy didn’t get to have his own family, what could have been? Bless his family.

  2. Susan Says:

    I hate seeing things like this. I hate that so many people on both sides of this war are losing thier lives. I guess I shouldn’t use the word “hate”…that’s how this whhole thing got started….

  3. Tod Says:

    Just 19 years old? That is so sad.

  4. Big John Says:

    I was in uniform at the age of 19 and I was still only a boy. Look in any military cemetary, they are full of ‘boys’.
    I’m afraid that many more 19 year olds will die before this horror ends.


  5. So sad and so unnecessary.

  6. her indoors Says:

    i feel sick to my stomach that so many lives are lost and so many young lifes too

  7. Tink Says:

    I got goosebumps when I saw how the numbers can be swapped out as the casualties increase. It’s just so… awful. 19 years old!

  8. gawilli Says:

    Cazzie – Actually he married his high school sweetheart, Ruthann, and they had a daughter named Gwendolyn who was 14 months old when he was killed.

    Susan – I don’t like seeing this either. My fear is that we will become numbed by it. It’s so easy when it doesn’t touch us personally to just let it go. We need to see it so we can speak out against it.

    Tod – 19 does seem so young, especially when I look at our high school seniors who are just a bit younger. Doesn’t it make you wonder what things led to the decision to enlist? What other opportunities were there for him?

    John – I would like to think you are wrong about this, but I fear you are not. I had great hopes after the November election, but when our President stated so blatantly that he does not care how the country feels about this war, short of impeachment – I feel we are dashed. Even today his response to the plan for a 6 month withdrawal beginning October 1 was: “I will strongly reject an artificial timetable (for) withdrawal and/or Washington politicians trying to tell those who wear the uniform how to do their job.” This according to the Associated Press. A veto is certain; and then what?

    ArkansasSongbird – I bet you can see the eyes of the kids you have had in your classroom in that picture. I can.

    Her Indoors – Me, too. It’s like a big rock.

    Tink – Seeing the numbers hanging on a nail did me in, too. That is really what initiated this post – sadly enough.

  9. mjd Says:

    Your picture and the sign do sadly represent great service and the ultimate sacrifice. Maybe the greatest support for the troops would be to bring them all home.


Leave a Reply

