Itsy Bitsy

April 29, 2007

“I’m not going to touch it; you touch it.”

“No, I’m not going to touch it either.”

“Well somebody needs to.”

This was the conversation I heard walking into my place of employment Friday morning as a group of co-workers gathered around staring at the wall. The culprit turned out to be a centipede.

As I got closer, I could see that he really wasn’t bothering anybody; he was just kind of hanging out. Perhaps he didn’t realize the impending doom and disaster. Admittedly he was of pretty good size, but still he wasn’t in attack mode. Come to think of it, I have never seen a centipede in attack mode. Wonder what that looks like. Mostly I see them running away as fast as their thousand legs will carry them.

Soon enough our mighty I.T. Guy came along and ended his little life. Our workplace was once again free from danger, present and future. The crowd thinned and work began.

His little brother was waiting for me in my office. By the time I set my purse down he had disappeared. I saw him a little later on as he made his way over to the wall behind the filing cabinet, then he was gone for the rest of the day.

Bugs don’t really bother me much. For the most part I even find them pretty cool. That is of course unless they are in attack mode, which doesn’t seem to happen very often. I do remember having a run in with, or should I say run away from, a swarm of hornets once when I was a kid. But that was clearly my fault because I poked a stick in their hole on the bank of the creek. They didn’t like that too awfully much, which was a lesson well learned.

spider.jpg

The reason this all comes to mind this morning is because of this little lady. I see her, or someone that looks a lot like her, every so often in the kitchen. I generally go about my business and so does she. This morning she was there when I started the coffee and by the time I was done she was gone. Willi feels pretty much the same as me, and Cali…well, she thinks they are a snack so she doesn’t count.

So aside from Cali, we lead a peaceful kind of coexistence in our house. I guess you could say it’s a bug’s life – as long as you stay away from the dog.

Are we the rule, or the exception?

10 Responses to “Itsy Bitsy”

  1. ilkeryoldas Says:

    LOL! Really funny conversation =D

  2. Jay Says:

    That spider’s life expectacy would take a dramatic drop if I saw it in my kitchen.

  3. Cazzie Says:

    Same here, bugs are “God’s creatures”as my 4 yr old keeps on bleating at us..”don’t kill the spider, don’t kill the fly, they’re my friends”. and so, with that we co habit..oh, and ATM we are watching Charlotte’s Web, 🙂

  4. Susan Says:

    Sadly, I pretty much think you are the exception. Most people just want to kill them. I’ve always picked critters up and taken them back outside. Except for when we lived in CA and were under attack by swarms of ants…they got sprayed as I just couldn’t take them all outside.

    Interestingly, we now have a pet centipede, and taratulas and who knows what all else…

  5. her indoors Says:

    oh i dont like creepie crawlies, but i try not to harm them and get them outside to freedom honest i do!!!


  6. It depends on what it is. I always kill wasps that get in the house and big, creepy spiders.

  7. Tink Says:

    I hate bugs. Probably because the ones in Florida are as big as house cats. Ok, ok. Maybe that’s all in my head. But I didn’t imagine the jumping spiders outside attacking my leg or the HUGE water bugs that tried to pinch my dog in the nose. *Shudder*

  8. daddy d Says:

    Ants in the house have not been grace to live within our house. Nor flys. Genral rule: out side not inside is fine. We of course have it both ways … being bigger.

  9. tod Says:

    I don’t mind bugs too much as long as they don’t sting. I always put them outside too (even the stingers.)


  10. I don’t know. I follow that rule as well…
    Usually just let the critters do their thing and don’t bother them much.
    I have made exception for this policy when I discovered a scorpion in a toy box my then 7 year old son was reaching into. I had to draw the line there. Creatures who can hurt my babies have to be killed. Everything else is fair game for co-habitation.


Leave a Reply

