Go forth and provoke thought…

April 30, 2007

Jenn in Holland has nominated Back in the Day for the Thinking Blogger Award which just tickles me to no end. In fact I checked back a couple of times to make sure I read it right. It was nice to think that someone else might see worth in my thoughts. Once reality set in, the pressure to produce something that others may consider thought provoking was mind boggling. So much so, that for a couple of days I couldn’t come up with one thing that seemed good enough. Finally I decided to skip that, do what I always do and hope that if Jenn comes around, it’s on a good day. With any luck she’ll let me keep the award logo on my side bar…

So, according to the rules of the game, it is now my privilege to tag five blogs that “really get me thinking”. Here are my choices, and why:

Thinking About is my first choice. In the last year PT has tackled subjects such as The Megachurch, Child Soldiers in the Congo, and even Playboy Magazine with a progressive theological perspective that is both refreshing and enlightening, particularly in this day and age. I encourage you to stop by, read with an open mind, and join in the commentary. You may not always agree, but I guarantee you will be thinking.

Next I would like to recognize Mjd at Return of the White Robin. We both began this adventure a little over a year ago. Although she took a sabatical during the school year, she’s back and I’m so glad. In her posts, as well as her commentary, she has a way of seeing the glass as full and overflowing rather than half empty. In the post Rose Colored Glasses she urges us as humans to do better and start now. Mjd makes me think positively and I like that.

If you enjoy children’s books as much as me, you will love The Magic of Books. PJ Librarian’s posts are a constant reminder of the importance of literacy for our children. With each book review comes a new way to relate the pages of a book to the pages of our lives. The Magic of Books makes me think about ways that I can instill the love of reading in the children in my life.

One of my first visits into blogdom was Nanaimo Blahg and I have been a steady reader ever since. Although I have never been to Nanaimo, I feel as though I will recognize many of its wonders should I have the occasion to go. With photos and commentary we see the most beautiful areas and are not spared those that need attention. Dilling’s lens is always focused on enjoying what we have and making it even better.

My last choice is my sentimental favorite, Boats to Build. Although Willi posts rather infrequently, and even less nowadays, he always manages to strike a nerve and get me thinking. Posts on minimum wage or universal health care were good the first time around and deserve a second look. Willi, if you’re reading this, I miss those stomping good stories of yours that always made me think…with a smile.

So there’s my short list, although I definitely could name a few more. I don’t expect that they will all continue the game but I enjoyed the chance to recognize them just the same.

Award winners, now it’s your turn…play away!

9 Responses to “Go forth and provoke thought…”

  1. daddy d Says:

    It is such a joy to even know people who are that good with words. I just come along for the ride.

  2. Cazzie Says:

    Lovely blogs indeed 🙂

  3. Willi Says:

    Why thank ya, honey. Guess I better get back to posting.

  4. Willowtree Says:

    Congratulations on the award, and I know exactly how you feel! I’ve gotten this one six times so far and in truth, I haven’t written one post that’s even close to thinkworthy. I tried to write something profound after the first time I was nominated but it’s just not my style.

    It is a good feeling to know that something you’ve written has been appreciated by someone.

  5. gawilli Says:

    Ah, Daddy D – you’re a pretty good one with words, too.

    Cazzie, they are all worthy of a look and read.

    Willi – Nice to see that you are back in the land of blog!

    Willowtree – yes it is a good feeling. What might appear profound for me generally happens when I get ticked about something and then it’s more of a rant! But, hey – that’s ok, too.

  6. pjlibrarian Says:

    What a surprise for me. I was trying to think of how to keep my words and book thoughts flowing recently as daily life seems to be keeping my minuscule free time too occupied of late. But, there you were this morning brightening my day. Thanks so much for including me in this group of thinkers. Some days my ponderings I think are more ramblings of inner jumbled brainwaves, but there may be some sense in there somewhere. And, you are right about Daddy D’s words, they are pretty good ones.

  7. mjd Says:

    GA…thanks for the Thinking Award. Hopefully, you will not rescind the award when you read my post for May 1st. Sometimes I get carried away with silliness.

  8. gawilli Says:

    PJ Librarian, I’m so glad you enjoyed the surprise. Your words and thought flow just fine in my book!

    Mjd, Nope it’s yours for keeps! Hope prom is the greatest.


  9. Like I could ever be disappointed in a post at this blog!
    I love your stuff Gawilli and love your style. That’s why I come here and that’s why I keep coming back.
    It’s fun to see your “short list” of faves. I like this Thinking Blogger award for that alone… to see who else is out there and get some new recommended reading!
    (So glad you passed to MJD! Also a favorite stop of mine.)


Leave a Reply

