Just Passing Through

May 6, 2007

Maybe a disclaimer would be in order since I’m posting pictures I took from my kitchen window again. I got a little smack talk last time, but that’s ok – I can take it. Actually, I looked into getting a camera that would allow me to get a better shot from a distance and they were so darn expensive I decided my ’06 Mother’s Day camera was just fine. Then something neat like this happens, and by the time I get down stairs and out the back door I’ve missed it. So, again I find myself wishing for a better camera.

At any rate, yesterday afternoon before the Derby (Storm in May came in 16th) Willi and I were putting dinner together in the kitchen when something blue caught my eye in the bushes. Willi thought it was a blue plastic bag from someone’s newspaper. It just seemed too blue to me. I took a picture with the lens zoomed out as far as it would go, then headed downstairs to see if it was a plastic bag. When I opened the back door it flew away.

tree.jpg

I couldn’t wait to see how my pictures came out and sadly they just do not do the little guy justice. Even cropping the picture does not help much. I am relatively sure though, that this is an Indigo Bunting. He sure looks a lot like the one in this picture.

indigo.jpg

They are not native to Northwest Indiana. In fact they winter down south and pass through here on their way back north. We have only seen them once before in the spring of 2005, and even then they were not here more than a week or so. That is when I got the picture below. I know – it’s not too good either. But you have to admit I am persistant.

indigo-05.jpg

Some beautiful spring day that elusive Indigo Bunting will be bless me with the perfect shot. I just know it. Until then I will sit quietly and wait…

kitty.jpg

17 Responses to “Just Passing Through”

  1. Willi Says:

    Nice picture of the cat. The Indigo Bunting really is too bad. Maybe it is time to shop for a new camera or at least start saving. But, first an exhaust manifold is in order.

  2. gawilli Says:

    Yep. Bad news on the exhaust manifold. No contest there. And I love my camera, so that’s ok. Just every once in awhile I think I might get a better picture with a different one. That may be one of those “grass is greener” things. Thanks for checking in on me.

  3. daddy d Says:

    Wow! Blue birds are real. Really blue.

  4. mjd Says:

    Maybe having two cameras would be okay. One to carry in your purse for quick pictures and one for more serious photography. I bet most web monsters have more than one camera. But, I guess that with all the traveling that you and Willi do, the exhaust manifold (whatever that is) should take precedence.

  5. Cazzie Says:

    Blissful images, thankyou, I needed that.

  6. Nessa Says:

    Very cool. I love watching birds out of my windows.


  7. It could also be a Blue Grosbeak. Hard to tell though.

  8. nancy Says:

    Hello,

    I think the officials at Churchill Downs are still out looking for my horse, Dominican. I did love that gray horse,Storm in May. Very brave mixing it up with the thundering herd with only one eye to guide you. Good old horse!!!!!

  9. Tink Says:

    Ooooh, pretty bird! I don’t see many blue birds around here. Mostly just herons, seagulls, hawks, and swallows. Odd mixture huh?

  10. gawilli Says:

    Daddy D – amazingly blue, isn’t it? It almost had a neon look in the sunlight.

    Mjd – stop with the webmonster stuff! I’m hoping the manifold thing is not too bad – but I really don’t think there is another camera in my future. Except once in awhile it works out great. And you’re right, it fits in my purse real nice.

    Cazzie – it was needed on Saturday for me also. It’s those little surprises that make you smile.

    Nessa – me too. Maybe we were cats in another life.

    ArkansasSongbird – I will have to look that one up!

    Nancy – I was pretty darn proud of him, too. I didn’t even get to see him race much because the camera was on the front of the pack most of the race.

    Tink – Odd mix, but pretty cool anyway. We have those here, wonder if they are the same make and model.

  11. jo Says:

    beautiful little chappy I hope this message gets to you not sure how to use this one.

  12. debi Says:

    Hi again. Glad you found a way back. I have really missed you. What a great couple of posts. I have never seen such a beautiful bird. I hope he lets you take more. I love the story of “Storm In May.” I did not watch that day. I used to love to go to the track. I will always think of you two on Derby Day.

  13. her indoors Says:

    wow did i say wow well i meant WOW

  14. nancy Says:

    Hello Again,

    I was so intrigued with Storm in May and the Derby I forgot to mention how I loved the beautiful kitty in your pictures.

    I used to have a cat that looked just like the one in your photograph and when she died I was heartbroken.

    Someone asked the other day on another blogsite what we readers would ask God if given the chance. I said that I would ask God why he didn’t give animals a longer lifespan. You learn to love them so much and then they are gone. So sad.

  15. gawilli Says:

    Jo – Glad you came by – your comment came through loud and clear!

    Debi – I miss not being able to comment on your blog – so don’t forget how you got here because when I comment it links back to my old blogsite! I have never been to the track up close and personal but it looks like Mjd and Daddy D, and Willi and I will remedy that! Yeah!

    Her Indoors – Wow!

    Nancy – That kitty is not ours except that he has adopted us. I’m not sure where he calls home, but he resides for the majority of the day in our back yard. I would be tempted to say that he is dining on ground squirrels since that particular population has gone down considerably since he moved in. It would be nice if our animals had a longer life span, except that on the occasion that the human dies first, who cares for the critter? I worry about that.

  16. Michelle Says:

    Oh the bunting is GORGEOUS! Hang in there, the purrrfect shot will present itself.

    Love the cat pic too. Perfect ending to the post (as I’m sure you had intended). Well done.

  17. samibear Says:

    I am pretty sure it is a Bunting and that would explain the neon look. It is said they are really black and the sun on their wings looks blue. I’ve seen them occasionally here in the south when they are passing through. Such a blessing are these sightings, a gift really.
    As for the camera thing, I can’t get close ups on my digital from the window. Don’t won’t to open the door and scare the birds away. I can zoom in after I download to the computer so that helps.
    Love to hear from other birders.
    Mama Bear


Leave a Reply

