Fun Monday Mug Shot

May 14, 2007

Willowtree is the boss of Fun Monday for today. I was by Mjd’s and it looks like fun so even though I’m tardy, I wanted to play anyway. Here is what was asked: “… I would like to see your favourite Coffee Mug. But wait there’s more, I’d also like to see your favourite glasses for a) non alcoholic drinks and b) alcoholic drinks. If you want extra credit you could also post your favourite plate. Note I said favourite, not best.”

coffee-mugs.jpg

The Juniper Fiesta jumbo mug is the one I use at home. I like it because it holds a lot of coffee. At work I use the Starbucks sippy cup because it doesn’t empty quite as easy when I knock it over. The pretty little mug on the left is one of four that were my mom’s. They are the ones I like to share when company comes.

drinking-glass.jpg

It’s plastic for me when it comes to drinking glasses. The large one gets filled with water or tea and moves with me from room to room. I can’t seem to keep from breaking glassware so they pretty much stay in the cabinet unless company comes.

wine-glass.jpg

This is my favorite wine glass. It came from Arby’s during one of those $1.00 a glass offers at Christmastime awhile back. There are probably about five or six left out of a dozen. I don’t feel near as guilty when I break one and it fits my hand nicely.

janes-platter.jpg

This platter was Grandma Jane’s. She and I comiserated our imperfections on occasion so it is only fitting that it also has a chip. She loved to cook and when I use it I think of her. She even cooked from the wheelchair and would find new recipes for me when she could not make it down to the kitchen herself.

cuke-top.jpg

I am drawn to bowls and this may be the culprit. This was my mom’s and I’m guessing it was her mom’s too. We always called it the cucumber bowl. I’m not sure if it was because of the color, or because she served cucumbers in it. It is interesting that the glaze marks from the tripod are in the center of the bowl, when usually they are on the bottom. I really don’t know much else about it, except that I always find myself looking for it’s mates but have never found one.

cuke-bottom.jpg

So, there you have it. Thanks Willowtree – this was a fun Monday.

16 Responses to “Fun Monday Mug Shot”

  1. willowtree Says:

    I’ll put you on the list real quick, you might get some late-comers.

  2. willowtree Says:

    Ok, I’m back (I didn’t stop to read the first time as I wanted to get you on the list). I hope you get some people over here for this post, it certainly deserves to be shared.

    Love that green mug, and I had a starbucks mug exactly like that one, but I gave it someone.

  3. mjd Says:

    Hey Gawilli, I am glad that you played too. The cucumber bowl is very interesting and unusual. The Arby’s wine glass is very nice. You should pour some Zeller Schwatze Katz in the glass and have a pleasant evening.

  4. gawilli Says:

    Thanks Willowtree – the fun is in the playing, but sharing is nice, too!

    Mjd – Sounds like a good idea…

  5. theotherbear Says:

    Oooh, love the cucumber bowl. It sort of reminds me of my mum’s asparagus plate. It looks nothing like your bowl, but mum always just served asparagus in it. Hers was hideous with a moulded fake china tomato on the end. Yours is really nice, in case you think I’m saying yours is horrid too!

  6. Susan Says:

    I love that bowl. There is just something about it tht speaks to me…

  7. chrisb Says:

    What a lovely collection, I see you like a bargain like me (my glasses were bought for a mere trifle). I love the plate and the bowl its a pity you can’t find out more about it.

  8. jo Says:

    i love that wine glass, lovely story.

  9. jo Says:

    think I put my blogspot address in wrong lol, its amazing the traits we pick up off our parents.

  10. Tink Says:

    I LOVE the cucumber bowl! What an awesome and unique piece.

  11. beccy Says:

    I love the cuecumber bowl…very unusual.

  12. marnie Says:

    The Cucumber bowl is wonderful. Such a beautiful color. I can almost smell the cucumbers.

  13. Jay Says:

    Hey, I didn’t know that Arby’s had a wine list. Wow. I need to get out more. 😉

  14. Betty Says:

    I had a fruit bowl that belonged to my mother. It had six smaller, individual bowls that I never used, but the large bowl was the perfect size for potato salad, which I took to all of the church picnics. Then, I found out that it was worth over $600.00. I quickly decided that a bowl from Dollar Store was good enough for a picnic.


  15. most wine glasses have very thin structure and i bet that they break easily not unless they are made of quartz glass `.,


Leave a Reply

