Mail’s here…

May 18, 2007

Yesterday another invitation came in the mail to become a valued member of A.A.R.P. They come every couple of months, and have been for the last few years. The first one that came really ticked me off. I was feeling bad enough already; it really wasn’t necessary to rub salt in the wound. After all, A.A.R.P. was for old people and that wasn’t me. Then I looked closely at the envelope and realized that it was addressed to Mr. Gawilli, rather than Mrs. Gawilli. You would think if they really wanted me to come along, they would have gotten that right. Right?

Obviously this mail is meant for an older gentleman with a similar name whose address resembles mine.

Right.

We had a little excitement at work last week when this package came for our science program. Some interesting things have come through our office; snails, butterfly larvae, beetles, brine shrimp, and even crawfish. These Madagascar Hissing Cockroaches seemed pretty cool to me although not too many others shared my joy. You have to admit they’re better than an invitation to A.A.R.P.

roaches.jpg

Mail call at home tends to be pretty mundane for the most part; maybe a bill or two and some advertisements. At election time we get some propaganda, but there’s really not a whole lot shaking here.

When I got home this afternoon a really nice thing happened at the mailbox. There was a box inside with my name on it. And it didn’t even say “Mr.” I set it on the dining room table for a bit, just to savor the moment. After all, I’ve had a package like this once before so I knew it would be worth the wait.

package.jpg

Inside there was a pretty piece of soft fabric with the pink emblem for breast cancer awareness accompanied by a rose. This was for my daughter; significant of her 3-Day walk in October. I, however, am the PEZmonster…so the candy and pillow case are mine, all mine. Bwahahaha.

needleone.jpg

This was a neat little item and it’s already fully loaded with my knitting needles.

needletwo.jpg

Well most of them anyway. I knew these would be good for a laugh one day!

needlefour.jpg

The top folds over, then needles and all roll up into a handy little case tied with a pretty pink ribbon. How cool is that?

Thanks to my friend, Graymama. Your thoughtfulness is very much appreciated. I am working toward paying your kindness forward, and in the meantime I’m sending some things along for my man Buddy. Watching him grow over the last year as been a joy.

buddysbox.jpg

Kind of makes me think the grandmother thing and A.A.R.P. might not be so bad after all.

Did I say that?

10 Responses to “Mail’s here…”

  1. mjd Says:

    GA, what a lovely post…I am still thinking about your Jack-in-the-Pulpit from the last post. The Hissing Cockroaches are cool, but honestly I would rather see them at school than at my house. Your craft gift from Graymama is fabulous. Well, the grandmother thing is good, but I vaguely remember some reason that I am boycotting A.A.R.P. In any event, you are way too young to be a member.

  2. Betty Says:

    I was insulted by the AARP letters for a time, too, but then, I noticed all the discounts seniors get, and it made me feel a little better.

  3. her indoors Says:

    no dont share your joy at the cockroaches!
    the other photos are lovely, the knitting needle holder brought back many memories of my mum thanks. and you need to explain to me what AARP is please, and grand mother title is great

  4. Cazzie Says:

    LOL, I love the topic of content and the way you wrote around that silly letter, LOL.
    I love PEZZ too, I remmeber I had a donald duck one and a tazzie devil one as a kid.

  5. graymama Says:

    Last time I promise! Buddy is occupied now 🙂

    If only you could be Buddy’s grandma 🙂 Thank you so much for thinking of him! All of the goodies will make him jump for joy 🙂 Your kind and thoughtful heart is the best gift!

    I believe that that there is a basic divine plan to our lives. I promised to send this a few weeks back, but then life happened. During my life happening, this book fell into my lap and the Pez shirt was waiting at the local Savers. Obviously, my tardiness had a purpose 🙂

    Buddy chose which Pez dispenser to send your way. He called it the “cuddle bear.” 🙂

    My heart is all a flutter seeing your needles in the case!

    I hope milk&honey will love the fabric 🙂

    ((((((((((((((((sweet gawilli)))))))))))))))))))

  6. Jay Says:

    Those cockroaches are really something. I would rather not get to close to them. Down in South Texas they have these HUGE flying cockroaches that I thought could only be shot down with Anti-Aircraft Artillery. LOL

  7. Nessa Says:

    AARP better stay away until I’m good and ready.

    You get neat things in the mail. I just get lots of dead trees. Those bugs are huge! I like the knitting needle case. Very nice.


  8. Eeeewwwwww!!! Those cockroaches are hideous!!! The rest of your goodies are very nice, but those bugs…….

  9. Tink Says:

    Graymama is a gem isn’t she? And a very busy bee. I don’t know where she gets all that energy. But I wish she would share her secret. 😉

    Roaches in the mail?! Ewwww. I’m sure I could scrounge up a few palmetto bugs from outside if you’d like.


  10. Being a grandmother is great. Not so much, AARP. I also am boycotting them, because of a lot of their behavior. The fact that they go after legislation that their members don’t necessarily want. The way they touted Medicare D before it was passed, despite the mess it is. That is because what AARP mainly is is an insurance company, not the voice of the elders.


Leave a Reply

