Kinda sorta…

May 29, 2007

but not really Wordless Wednesday!

optimism.jpg

You have got to check this out! Willi and I saw this sign on the way to Fort Wayne last week. We thought it was so cool that on the way home we kept watching for it out the rear window so we could take this picture. Ok, you can laugh now. Anyway, Willi pulled over on U.S. 30 in Columbia City, we think, I got out and snapped the shot, then we came home. Happy. Willi humors me that way, and I love that about him.

So, tonight I was getting ready to load the picture for Wordless Wednesday, even though it had words, and saw THE FOUNDATION FOR A BETTER LIFE in small print on the bottom of the sign. I decided I better take a look. After all, what if it turned out to be some bad thing masquerading as a good thing? But guess what? It wasn’t!

The soul purpose of THE FOUNDATION FOR A BETTER LIFE is to encourage others to do good. Their sister organization is The Random Acts of Kindness Foundation. They are non-profit. It is not a membership organization, although you can join them in doing good things. They “transcend any particular religion or nationality”. There’s more, but it’s basically the same good stuff. Now, how cool is that?

The site is amazing. You can click to see the other billboards, download your sightings (I did), write stories about your heroes, and lots of other neat things.

I hope I don’t get kicked out of the Wordless Wednesday thing, but really it was worth it.

Oh and for my designer daughter, forgive me for this post. I know I broke all of the few design rules you taught me with my colors and all. I got carried away. Sorry.

14 Responses to “Kinda sorta…”

  1. Bridget Says:

    really cool!! I love it–happy WW.

  2. mjd Says:

    I love your billboard and the saying. I could use a little optimism tonight. I will have to come back to view the other billboards.

    I think that you deserve a prize for WW rather than being booted.


  3. The Corset Queen

    Wordless Wednesday

    Cathie Jung has been wearing a corset every day for the past 12 years, and she now wears one 24 hours a day. “I probably have around 100 of them,” says the smallest waist person.
    Cathie Jung, corset, Wordless Wednesday


  4. What a amazing message! I need to show this to my son’s who are both very frustrated with school right now and want to give up.

    Thanks for stopping and taking the picture!


  5. Oh, that is wonderful. I really love this post. I am glad you didn’t stay wordless so that we could all get this.

    By the way, I thought of you in Milan last weekend and snapped a shot just for you. Email me and I will send it over to you! It will make you smile I think. 🙂
    aeinoyou AT yahoo DOT com


  6. Far out!!! Thank you for sharing this with us. I love the billboard and am going to visit the links right now.

  7. Michelle Says:

    If ya got kicked out, it was worth it. Great post and I LOVE THE BILLBOARD.

    We need more messages like that in the world.

  8. Tink Says:

    I wish we had billboards like that around here. Ours say things like,

    “God is watching you.”
    and…
    “I believe in you ~God”
    and…
    “Know divinity!”
    and…
    “Mud Bog June 24th.”

  9. daddy d Says:

    To keep on trying is such a good message. Without working on “IT”, there never will be progress along the journey of time. There needs to be an effort in order to help get some thing positive.

  10. Jay Says:

    I’ve never heard of that organization before. I’ll have to check them out!

  11. giveitatry Says:

    I always like WW better when there are a few words – maybe I need to find an Almost WW site. Anyway – Great photo. I will check it out.

  12. mjd Says:

    I love your pansies masthead. After seeing your new masthead, I tried something new with mine.

  13. Nessa Says:

    I’ve been to their sites before. It’s nice to see some place that only seems to want people to be nice and thoughtful to eachother.


Leave a Reply

