Hey good lookin, watcha got cookin?

June 10, 2007

Joy, at A Spot of Tea, is our host this week.

She thought it would be nice to see what other kitchens look like out there. So here is ours…

I guess by today’s standards it would be small, but we spend more time together in here than in any other part of the house.

Our kitchen is square and this is the inside wall. Willi restored this cabinet for our Fiesta ware. In it’s former life it held all kinds of odds and ends and was stationed in the laundry room downstairs. It was white and not too pretty. I really like having the dishes so handy.

On around to the right is our stove. I think it is as old as I am. This is the house I grew up in and I don’t ever remember there being another. We are hoping it doesn’t give up the ghost. It has a large oven on the right, with a half-size oven on the left – still big enough to hold a 9 x 12 pan. Both ovens also have broilers. There have been many family dinners when all burners were going along with both ovens.

Around to the right again, is my favorite part of the kitchen. These are the windows I get teased about taking pictures out of. For several years I lived in a house with a wall over the sink and boy did I miss these windows. From here I can see the birds on the feeders, the creek that runs behind the house and watch the seasons in full swing. I cut the stencils for the Fiesta Dancing Lady and Willi and I painted them on the soffit a few years ago. I don’t know if you can see the one second from the right, but she is a red head for Willi’s mom! She got a kick out of that. To the right of this is the fridge. Boring.

One of the best things Willi did was to put this butcher block table together for the middle of the kitchen. We cook together and it is so nice to work at a table rather than side by side at the counter. This is a hunk of smoked pork waiting to be pulled.

To close, I bring you Willi’s smoker. This is one part of the kitchen I stay out of; and rightfully so!

26 Responses to “Hey good lookin, watcha got cookin?”

  1. mjd Says:

    And, I have been lucky enough to see this lovely kitchen in person, but better yet I have been lucky enough to taste Willi’s cooking, yum.

    Even though we lack windows above our kitchen sink, I am glad that you can see wonderful and peaceful view out your window.

  2. giveitatry Says:

    Wow, I would be in Fiesta Heaven at your house! I love it!

    Your kitchen looks wonderful and so does the meat!

  3. Joy T. Says:

    Love love love the colors and those Fiesta Dancing Ladies are priceless. Especially the redhead :o) The food at your place looks scrumptious!

  4. Karmyn R Says:

    WOW! I love the colors of your kitchen with all that Fiestaware – it looks like a fun place.

  5. Susan Says:

    I LOVE all those bright colors in your kitchen! And the cabinet is to die for, I would love to have something that wonderful with all that character. And those ladies are so fun!

  6. Willowtree Says:

    Now that’s my kind of kitchen!! We’ve got a stove just like that on the Coast (except ours has five hotplates, but we have the two ovens). I love the festive feel to the place.

  7. theotherbear Says:

    Loce that cabinet full of colourful plates!

  8. Big John Says:

    Looks like a ‘proper’ kitchen. I’m sure that in the USA (just like here in the UK) you have plenty of people who spend fortunes on ‘designer’ kitchens and then live on ‘take-out’ food.

  9. daddy d Says:

    The dishes have a great place to rest. They are there ready to go at any time. Your food lab is very operational. The out put is super. Great place. Great work.

  10. chrisb Says:

    I love your dresser (cabinet) and the butchers block (I can almost taste the smoked pork).

  11. Tiggerlane Says:

    I really like all the colorful plates and cups – what a festive kitchen!

  12. dilling71 Says:

    Great colours!!! I love that stove, with extra workspace! Aren’t kitchens the best? I have also had kitchens without windows…it’s not fun. We spend so much time in the kitchen, they should always have a view!

  13. Amy W Says:

    I love the fiestaware colors…I just got some fiestaware for Christmas this year…

  14. Nessa Says:

    Great colors in your kitchen. Ribs, yum.

  15. Heather Says:

    I LOVE your cabinet and the fiestaware! Cool!!!

  16. Rhea Says:

    The Fiestaware is good looking. Now, can I have some of that BBQ?

  17. Betty Says:

    What a fun kitchen. No wonder you spend so much time there.

  18. tod Says:

    I think your kitchen is gorgeous and I might have to fly over and steal your fiesta ware.

  19. Karina Says:

    I love love love your kitchen! The dish cabinet is FANTASTIC and the colorful fiestaware? OMG, I’m drooling with envy over here. My kitchen also has a Mexican theme, but yours has all the colors and fun that I want for mine.

    LOVE IT!!!

  20. Tink Says:

    Adorable! I love the story behind the red headed dancing lady. Thank you for sharing!

  21. JennieBoo Says:

    What a bright and happy kitchen. I LOVE your Fiestaware.

    I’ll be over in a bit for some yummy bbq!

    Happy Monday!

    See you next week!

    Blessings

  22. Cazzie Says:

    Yumm!! I love this post, and I love the kitchen, and I want one of those plate stands too…did you paint it yourself?

  23. Jay Says:

    I love your kitchen. Lots of cool stuff there!

  24. Pamela Says:

    all those plate colors from your fiesta wear / just like an artists pallete

    it’s a joyful kitchen for sure.

  25. debi Says:

    Love this kitchen. I love color.


Leave a Reply

