Thanks for your concern!

June 22, 2007

A note about our storm damage…

We are fine. All of this happened when I was at work and Willi was in Indy. The winds took trees and branches down all the way around our house, but there was no harm done. The largest tree was a twin and we think the remaining half will need to come down as it sits precariously close to, and is leaning toward, the house. I hate to lose trees. They are like friends.

The structure is our neighbor’s shed. It sits, or sat, right on the property line. There were parts of three trees that came down on the roof and straddle both yards. I think it’s pretty much a loss.

I think it is interesting that a newspaper that was lying on the back porch remained in the exact same place it was left. Other than the trees, there was no physical damage. Hanging plants, my mom’s Christmas Cactus on its plant stand, the grills – everything was in exactly the same place and unharmed.

The worst part, we are so spoiled, was that the power was out when I got home, came on for around 45 minutes or so on Tuesday, and was back out until Wednesday. That, plus the clean-up, is an irritant. But all in all, we came out just fine.

Willi missed it. I tried to explain it to him over the phone, along with my whining about being in the dark, with no coffee pot, or computer, or the any of the other comforts we take for granted. Judging by his response when he got home Wednesday, I didn’t do such a good job! He and the chainsaw will become friends this weekend.

On a funny note, I have not carried a house key for some time. I took it off of my key ring at some point, for some reason, and never put it back on. So, my usual method of entrance – the garage door opener – went along with the power outage. I had to wait for my daughter to get out of class and let me in the house. That’s a pretty humbling experience. I guess I won’t do that anymore. I do need to make sure she gets her key back. Just in case…

8 Responses to “Thanks for your concern!”

  1. Patsy Ann Says:

    I am so glad that you & your family and house are all in fine shape. Getting locked out! Now that will give you something to laugh about in about five years!

  2. Nessa Says:

    I bet going in and out through the garage seemed like the easy way…at one time.

  3. Jay Says:

    I hope you have a fireplace cause you’re gonna have lots of firewood now! Or run it throgh a chipper for some mulch or something.

    At least you didn’t have to crawl through a window!

  4. Susan Says:

    That’s too funny that you were locked out! It’s a good thing someone had a key…even it you did have to wait for a bit.

    I’m glad no one was hurt.

  5. daddy d Says:

    Clearing the trees is a lot of work. Chain saw power will take care of it. I am glad there was no house damage.

  6. corky Says:

    No coffee pot or computer??? I couldn’t imagine going 12 hours without my two beloved’s.

  7. mjd Says:

    I hope that the cleanup goes well. Too bad that we are going out town; otherwise, Daddy D could help with his chain saw. Take care. I hope that the rest of the summer brings only sunshine and gentle rains. Well, at least, I hope that there are no more violent storms at the Gawilli/Willi household. You have had your share.

  8. Betty Says:

    I’m glad your house wasn’t damaged. Sorry about the electricity. I always get a sudden urge to vacuum when our electricity is out. The urge goes away as soon as the lights come on. Strange, huh?


Leave a Reply

