One Man’s Trash…

June 24, 2007

Swampy, at Anecdotes, Antidotes, and Anodes , is our host. She asked to see our bookshelves or stacks of books, shelves with toys, dishes, collections, Aunt Gertrude’s ashes in an urn, and pictures of the garage, carport, or places where we store ‘stuff.’

It was a difficult, pretty hard, relatively easy decision to skip the closets, fruitcellar, and garage. I try to have boxes ready for AMVETS monthly. Really I do. I feel a disclaimer coming on.

Disclaimer: My mom was a collector of all things interesting. After she died it took months years to decide what I absolutely could not part with in this house. Then I moved 18 years of my life, and my children’s, back home. Willi came along a few years later, and for the last ten we have been accumulating our own stuff.

Having said all that…did I sufficiently blow this mess off on someone else? Very well then, let’s begin… The case in the picture below holds a little bit of everything. A collection of bells, glassware, family memorabilia, and otherwise neat stuff that I couldn’t part with.

cabinet.jpg

Important stuff, like my transistor radio, an old deck of cards with a half naked lady on them that I think was my dad’s, my Grandma’s Swedish bible, and of course my Pez collection. You will also see some old toy guns, a Gumby doll and some boot hooks. And some old plastic bottle caps. Remember those? Note to self: Some of this stuff could be fodder for future posts.

cabinet-bottom.jpg

This is what happens when two music lovers find each other. There were some doubles but for the most part, our collections complimented each other nicely. This is one area I can’t blame on anyone other than Willi and me.

music.jpg

shleft.jpg

My dad made these shelves. Back in the day they held all of my books and toys. Over the years they have been replaced by encyclopedias and high school year books, and then my own children’s toys for when they came to visit their Gram. Now they hold a few books that were treasures from my folks, but for the most part they are ours.

The boots are from Willi and his three chillins. Beneath the boots are the horns that his daddy used when they went hunting. The cane is from my Grandfather and my daughter painted the sun picture. Just thought I would slip that in there.

shelves-right.jpg

All around the bottom are albums from the 60’s up until cd’s became the way to go. We pull them out every once in awhile, but for the most part they just sit. Finally we found a turntable that records vinyl to the computer and last week Willi moved the first album onto the iPod. So there is hope for those old albums after all. Glad we held on a little longer. Of equal importance is my collection of old Rolling Stone magazines – before they got stupid. In the picture below is the jaw bone of some animal. I found it when I was a kid. The water company was digging to put in water lines and it turned up in a pile of dirt. Well I thought it was pretty cool at the time.

jawbone.jpg

We have a wide variety of books, some old and some new. Many of Willi’s books have to do with education and most of mine are either reference books or children’s books. The books in the next two pictures are our more recent reads. They reside upstairs in a dusty but handy spot.

theology.jpg

up-down.jpg

kitchen.jpg

The little cabinet in the kitchen holds the all important box of 96 Crayola Crayons and coloring books. They’re mine. Great stress reliever.

crafts.jpg

Well, Swampy, we had to draw the line somewhere. I leave you with one representative closet, full of sewing and craft supplies. On the shelf above this mess is part of a doll collection. This seems like a good place to call it quits. Sheesh, I’m exhausted.

27 Responses to “One Man’s Trash…”

  1. theotherbear Says:

    Wow. Just, wow. You sure have lots of stuff. It all looks interesting. Can you explain to my husband that I don’t have to throw books away or sell them just because I have lots. It looks like that is an argument you’d be on my side for!

  2. milkandhoney Says:

    And someday, this will all be mine. (again.) MUAH HA HA HA HAAA.


  3. Holy moley!! I am in awe of your CD collection!! And I would love, love, love to dig through your Rolling Stones. Seeing your little kitchen cabinet reminded me that I totally left off mentioning and taking a picture of all my cookbooks. Oh, well, another day, another post.

  4. my4kids Says:

    Wow that is a huge CD collection!

  5. corky Says:

    Wow! Very nice stuff. When are you going to invite me to come over and play with those toys (eyes bulging out of my head)?

  6. beccy Says:

    Wow, what a lot of shelves and stuff, it’s all pretty neat as well.

  7. Hootin' Anni Says:

    *choking here*…….look at the CD collection. Holy cow!!

    Happy Fun Monday

  8. Jenny Says:

    Wow. That’s freaking impressive!

  9. debi Says:

    I no longer think we have that many books. I love the pictures and feel a bit inspired to get to work on getting organized. Thank you for sharing.

  10. Big John Says:

    Blimey! Who does the dusting ? 🙂

  11. giveitatry Says:

    I could spend hours looking at your shelves – neat stuff!

    Have a fun Monday!

  12. Susan Says:

    You have so much fun stuff! I’d love to come prowl through it all!

  13. pjlibrarian Says:

    Very organized! And, yeah for the books. We too have several and I mean several book cases filled with books. Love all the memories behind the “stuff”. A good way that might help as these pass on to others much, much later in life is maybe take these photos and type up quick comments about all the stuff and put them in a binder of sorts so that the sentiments can keep on giving to others. Or, you can just print this out and stick it on the shelves for later reference.

  14. pjlibrarian Says:

    Oh and p.s. coloring books and crayons should be a requirement in adulthood for quick stress relief. Every job should pass them out at breaktime.

  15. chrisb Says:

    Wow you have such wonderful collections and everything is so orderly, would you like to come and sort me out?!!?

  16. JennieBoo Says:

    And I will not be dusting….especially your millions cd’s/dvd’s!

    Whew!

    Enjoyed seeing your “Fun Monday” today.

    Happy Monday

  17. Willowtree Says:

    Wow, I love it all! I bought a turntable so that I could get my albums onto CDs, but when I started I realised that most of them I didn’t like enough to make the effort, and the ones I did like were too scratched anyway. I hope you have better luck.

    PS. I sent your package.


  18. If you are interested, probably the curator at the local natural history museum or a zoology instructor at the high school or college level could identify that jaw bone for you. Who knows, it might be the jaw bone of an ass, and Biblical.

  19. mjd Says:

    Visiting your home is always a joy whether in person or through the Internet. The turntable that records vinyl to MP3’s sounds like a wonderful invention. What will they think of next?

  20. Michelle Says:

    It’s all so colourful and artfully arranged! Feels like home.

  21. Bethany Says:

    Out of all the items on your shelves, it was the Crayola Big Box that jumped out at me!

  22. Jay Says:

    THAT is an awesome CD collection.

    Lots and lots of great stuff in all shelves.

    I noticed your grandfather’s cane. When we were kids my sister and I got our grandfather a custom made, hand carved cane for Christmas one year. He loved it so much he showed it to everybody all over town. It was pretty cool. He was actually burried with it.

  23. Pamela Says:

    I’m breathing in a brown bag because I’m hyperventilating over all this —

    I always wonder who dusts it…. then I wonder if you have listened to every CD… then I wonder about the pistol in the display case…

    so many treasures!!!!!!!

  24. Nessa Says:

    I like to color in coloring books, too. It is very relaxing.

  25. Tiggerlane Says:

    I have definite shelf-envy. Especially the CDs…what a fantabulous collection!!

    I’m coming over to raid your house.

  26. Tink Says:

    I’m one of those people who hate living in clutter, so your setup would probably spark a mad cleaning spree in me. But oddly, I LOVE staying at other people’s houses that are full of stuff. There’s so much to look at! It makes it feel homey.

  27. daddy d Says:

    Good organization. I love the books. The CD’s are a wow. I did not know there were that many.


Leave a Reply

