Summer Nights

July 2, 2007

Jenni at Prairie Air, is our host. She asked us to share one or more of our favorite summertime memories in a poem, short story, or by just telling it like it was – which usually seems to work best for me.

This is a picture of my Gramma, my dad’s mother, standing in front of her house. She is the only grandparent I remember. You will recall me talking about her in this post, and also in this one. She had five children, four sons and a daughter. I was the youngest of her grandchildren, more along the same age of her great-grandchildren. I loved it when the cousins stayed at Gramma’s for the night.

gramma-and-sonny.jpg

The person who took this picture was standing on the lake shore, so this is actually the rear of her house. The row of windows across the back of the house were hinged at the top and on summer nights my Gramma would lift them up and hook them to the ceiling. I’m not quite sure how the side windows opened, but I remember the cool night air blowing freely all through the room.

The door to the room was in the center and as you walked in you would see a row of beds that stretched from one end to the other. Nothing else. There was just enough room between them to make them up in the morning. The linens were always crisp, cool and smelled really good.

At the end of a long day of play Gramma washed us at the sink and sent us to bed one by one. We crawled between the sheets and she would fold us into the fabric like a cocoon. We giggled in the dark as we told silly jokes. If we were lucky we would fall asleep watching nature’s light show out over the lake and trees. It may not have been as brilliant as the one pictured below, but to our eyes it was magnificent. Those were some good summer nights.

aurora_csp12_web.jpg

22 Responses to “Summer Nights”

  1. nessa Says:

    What a great summer memory. I can feel it.

  2. mjd Says:

    Your telling of those summer nights puts me right there at Gramma’s house. The house itself reminds me of my Aunt Ida’s house in Michigan, which brings back other fond summertime memories.

  3. Swamp Witch Says:

    Ah-h-h ! Those summer nights. I, too, was cocooned in the sheets, blankets, quilts at Mam-ma’s house. There was only one wood stove in the house, so during the winter, the temperature dropped considerably. I can remember waking up with a thin layer of ice on the bedspread. So our cocoons were not only for snuggling they kept us from freezing.


  4. Norhtern Lights are so spooky and cool! That is a great memory! I love the old photo and the image of being washed in the sink!!

  5. JennieBoo Says:

    I’ve never seen “The Northern Lights”, but I’d love too!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Happy FunMonday!

  6. Karmyn R Says:

    I think the best summer memories involve being with grandparents!!!

  7. dilling Says:

    I think a lot of Grandmas figure into peoples fondest summer memories….

  8. beccy Says:

    What great memories of your grandma and being snuggled into bed. I used to love sleeping at my granny’s house-she spoit me rotten as my mum does with my children.

  9. Amy W Says:

    I too have fond memories of my grandparents.

  10. Tink Says:

    That’s awesome! I loved visiting my Grandma (and Grandpa) too. They had a garden out back where they grew chives and blackberries. I would pick a handful and eat them in the yard pretending that I was an Indian princess.

  11. tod Says:

    I really enjoyed reading this post. I could just picture the warm summer nights in the house by the lake. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  12. min Says:

    I remember my Grandma’s cabin in the woods of the Ozarks. It was small, old, and dusty. When it rained the roof leaked and the bedding got wet, then everything smelled of mildew. Daddy Long-legs were everywhere and there were frequently coral snakes which needed to be herded out of the kitchen and chopped-up with the hoe.

    It was the most wonderful place in the world.

  13. Willowtree Says:

    This triggered some of my own memories. My Grandma had a place near the beach where all the cousins would go for holidays.

  14. Kaytabug Says:

    That is amazing. I’d love to see those Northern Lights!


  15. I can feel those summer breezes and those crisp, clean sheets. What lovely memories!

    I wish I had a bed on my screened porch!

  16. Jenni in KS Says:

    Lovely Gramma memory and a beautiful photo there at the bottom!

  17. Pamela Says:

    heading as far north as possible to see the Northern lights (and hear them… I’ve been told) is on my TO DO LIST.

    And here you just lie in bed and took for granted that wonderful work of art. I’m so jealous.

    windows open for the cool breeze off the lake.. what a treat.

  18. corky Says:

    Very sweet memories of your grandmother.

  19. daddy d Says:

    Many times cool summer nights are a welcome contrast with hot summer days. I like the thought of windows opening to let in the cool air. A house near the water is a real joy.

  20. debi Says:

    This is a wonderful post. You took us all there with you. You also made me remember why I love being a Grandma. My 4 oldest kids lost both Grandmas when they were very small. They missed out on so much.I have many great memories of my Grandmas. I know someday that my Grandkids will be remembering the fun times with me too. I spend alot of time making memories with them all.

  21. Susan Says:

    Something about a grandma is just magical…

  22. JennieBoo Says:

    WOW! I’d love to see the Northern Lights one day.

    And many blessings for Grandma!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Happy Fun Monday


Leave a Reply

