Apron of Another Kind

August 5, 2007

Ms Cellania says, “Show your aprons. It can be your favourite or an unusual one or more than one. Be creative as you like.” This was tough since I do not own/wear an apron. I did find a picture of Willi in one of his aprons. This is an apron Sarah brought him from Hawaii. He also has one that says “Hail to the Chef”, from his faculty, and a Tabasco apron we picked up in New Orleans. He’s a little more particular than me. I just wear something when I cook that I’m not worried about getting messed up.

willis-apron.jpg

My mom would cringe if she heard me say that because she NEVER cooked without an apron. There were always at least two ready to go, hanging in the pantry in the kitchen. They fit around her neck and tied at the waist. They were usually a pretty cotton print. I remember ironing them. She made me wear them when I cooked, but it never felt quite right. What if I got something on them?

mom.jpg

Here is a picture of my mom from a March 1960 newspaper article. She is wearing what I always called an apron, but really I think it was a pinafore or jumper. She wore it once a week for many years. It was pink and starched just like the crisp white shirt she wore underneath it. There was a multi-colored patch center front that said Gary Methodist Hospital Auxiliary. My mother was a “Pink Lady”.

apron-1.jpg

This article was written about the Pinky Puppets the ladies had begun making for children in the hospital’s pediatric ward. Since November of the previous year they had made and given away 200 puppets. In later years they made Pinky Puppies and clowns. My mom is also in the picture above to the left.

moms-apron-2-001.jpg

“Do you know who I am?
Come now, can’t you guess?
I am yours while you are here, and home I’ll go
like a new sort of playmate and friend, you know.
I may be quite small to call me a gal,
so let’s call me Pink, your hospital pal.”

23 Responses to “Apron of Another Kind”

  1. Pamela Says:

    that poem was something else. Times change – and we giggle and the way people entertained themselves.

    My 86 year old aunt still volunteers at the hospital gift shop.. and they wear the old pink lady outfits.

    Great fun monday post!

  2. chrisb Says:

    That was a great post. I’ve never heard of “Pink Ladies’ so it was interesting reading about them. I loved seeing the newspaper cuttings and of course Willi in one of his aprons!!

  3. Willowtree Says:

    Well done to your mom for volunteering. Is that cigarette in Willis mouth, I don’t think it is.

    We have Pink Ladies over here, now if we could only get some doctors we’ll be fine!!

  4. beccy Says:

    Great post, I’m glad you kept the newpaper cuttings and were able to share them with us.

  5. her indoors Says:

    brilliant, never heard of ‘pink ladies’ either so educatioanl as well

  6. gawilli Says:

    WT – that is a wooden match in Willi’s mouth. He had just cut several onions which calls for biting down on a wooden match “so that your eyes don’t water”. He is in the thick of Emeril’s Penne a la Vodka Casserole.

  7. corky Says:

    200 pupets would make one heck of a pupet show! 😉

    “The Pink ladies pledge to make puppets.”

    Fun post Gawilli

  8. Joy T. Says:

    What a sweet post…and very interesting! I’ve never heard of Pink Ladies.

  9. Jenni in KS Says:

    What a neat story about your mom! Does that match trick really work? I’ll have to try it.

  10. Debbie Says:

    What a great post. I enjoyed reading it and looking at the newspaper clippings. 🙂

  11. Nessa Says:

    I don’t have any aprons at all, but I did wear one of those pinafores when I was a hospital volunteer. They give you t-shirts now, which is what my daughter wore when she was a volunteer.

  12. Kaytabug Says:

    Great photos, Love the story and newspaper clips!
    Did the matchstick work? I will try next time I chop onions!

  13. Stephanie Says:

    That is AWESOME!! I loved the story of the Pink Ladies and the picture of your mom!!

  14. Swamp Witch Says:

    Great stories from the newspaper. There was a group of young ladies called, “Candy Stripers” in area hospitals where I grew up. They wore pink and white striped pinafores.
    I will certainly try the matchstick trick the next time I chop onions. If it doesn’t work, I may light it because my eyes water and burn so much when I make my salsa.

  15. mjd Says:

    I love your post about your mom and the Pinky puppets. Although they may not be making Pinky puppets, there are nice ladies that carry on the work your mother started with sewing for the Methodist Hospital Auxiliary. I saw them at the Methodist Church in Merrillville this morning.

    Whatever Willi is cooking has to be delicious. Vodka casserole, you say?

  16. theotherbear Says:

    Fabulous post – I really enjoyed reading this. I’d never heard of these pink ladies before.

  17. Tiggerlane Says:

    Did he just cut onions? B/c I SWEAR I see a match in his mouth…

  18. giveitatry Says:

    I Have heard of Pink Ladies. My Aunt is still a Pink Lady! Great post!

    I wasn’t sure if that was a cig or not, then I thought it was part of the apron….isn’t it funny how closely we look at these photos.

  19. Big John Says:

    Funny that you should mention ‘pinafore’. My grandmother was never seen without hers, but her ‘pinny’ was of the ‘wrap-around’ kind and always starched.


  20. Great post. Very interesting and I loved the old newspaper pictures. Also enjoyed reading about the cicadas. We have a plentiful crop of them in Arkansas, too. They love to leave their old shells behind on the screen of my porch.

  21. Tink Says:

    That old news article is SO COOL! My family doesn’t keep anything like that. I’ve never owned an apron. Most of the time I forget to even change clothes. Which is probably why I go through so many of them. I’ll pull a shirt out of the dryer and think, “Where in the world did that yellow splotch come from?”

  22. cbason Says:

    My mother has been a Pink Lady for over 40 years. I found your article by seaching for the history of the Pink Ladies. They are known in hospitals throught the united states as the Pink Ladies, but I cannot find how they came of the name. There is a flying fortress by the name of the pink lady from wwll, but I cannot find any connection. Can anyone help?

  23. Ms Christian Says:

    I’m a 40-year old working mother who just discovered the joy of the full apron. My old auntie sent me a few beautiful ones when I first got married, but I never used them. Recently, I began working in my church’s soup kitchen which often takes place right after work in the evening. The solution? Put a pretty apron over my work clothes. It saves time beause I don’t have to change, makes me look like I’m there to serve–not be served, and it protects my clothing. I also discovered–like moms from the old days knew–the key to wearing the apron is ironing it. Nothing says “I’m here to work & serve” than a clean, starched iron.


Leave a Reply

