Just what the Doctor ordered…

August 10, 2007

Its been an interesting week. In fact, its been an interesting summer which fittingly ended here today. It wasn’t all that bad. After all, when you are laying on a gurney in a somewhat compromising state, and look up to see this hanging on the wall, you have to giggle. I have a great doctor and he has a sense of humor. On the up side, I had two days off of work. The good news is that its over and I should be on the mend soon. And that’s the end *snort* of that.

That being said, I had plenty of time on my hands yesterday and today and spent much of it trying to find out the name of the movie about the Irish band that almost made it to fame and fortune playing soul music, so that I could see if any of it had made it to YouTube. Phew. I didn’t have much to go on except that the title started with “The” and it came out sometime in the 90’s. Finally I asked the font of all knowledge and wisdom, my son-in-law, and of course he knew exactly what I was talking about. I knew that he would.

So, here is one of my all-time favorite Otis tunes via The Commitments

…which led me to this clip of the same great song done as only Duckie can.

Ah, music! Nourishment for my soul.

Now I’m off to catch up on what’s been happening in your lives.

8 Responses to “Just what the Doctor ordered…”

  1. milkandhoney Says:

    Sorry that your day was a BUMMER. *snort*

  2. debi Says:

    I am glad that you are feeling better today. Will keep you in prayer.
    That movie is one I like very much myself. Wish we had it.

  3. her indoors Says:

    love the turd posters!
    what a way to spend two days off work, poor you, hope things are ok

  4. daddy d Says:

    I am glad that you are on the mend. Being sick is no fun, even if you are off work. It is good to know that there are doctors who know what to do with a bit of character, also.

  5. mjd Says:

    I am so sorry that you have not been feeling well this summer. I am glad to hear that you are on the mend.

    I remember the movie about The Commitments. Your videos bring back some pleasant memories. “Try a little tenderness,” is sound advice from Otis.

    Take care.

  6. dilling Says:

    Well, I hope you are feeling better quickly. It has been quite a summer, hasn’t it?
    Two very fine movies….

  7. Michelle Says:

    I’ve owned The Commitments soundtrack since the movie came out and it is, by far, still one of my favourite CD’s.

    Thanks for finding the clip! (and now, of course, I want to run out and rent Pretty in Pink)

  8. tod Says:

    I hope you are feeling better 🙂


Leave a Reply

