Here it comes!

August 11, 2007

You’d better get your crayons in a row!

photohunters2mo1.gif

Today’s Theme: Row. Become a Photo Hunter.

row2.jpg

cover.jpg

 

Ah, the smell of crayons always reminds me of school. It’s getting closer and closer you know. This is the time of year that the nightmares crept into my dreamy sleep, even in high school. I can’t find my locker. Here’s my locker, but what is my combination? Where is my next class? I guess Shel Silverstein had the same scary monsters.

A Light in the Attic

by Shel Silverstein (Illustrator)
HarperCollins Publishers, October 1981

 

Whatif

Last night, while I lay thinking here,
Some Whatifs crawled inside my ear
And pranced and partied all night long
And sang their same old Whatif song:
Whatif I’m dumb in school?
Whatif they’ve closed the swimming pool?
Whatif I get beat up?
Whatif there’s poison in my cup?
Whatif I start to cry?
Whatif I get sick and die?
Whatif I flunk that test?
Whatif green hair grows on my chest?
Whatif nobody likes me?
Whatif a bolt of lightning strikes me?
Whatif I don’t grow taller?
Whatif my head starts getting smaller?
Whatif the fish won’t bite?
Whatif the wind tears up my kite?
Whatif they start a war?
Whatif my parents get divorced?
Whatif the bus is late?
Whatif my teeth don’t grow in straight?
Whatif I tear my pants?
Whatif I never learn to dance?
Everything seems swell, and then
The nighttime Whatifs strike again!
– Shel Silverstein

10 Responses to “Here it comes!”

  1. mjd Says:

    This is it, an award-winning photo depicting the theme of Rows. Nice work!

  2. nessa Says:

    I love crayons and coloring in coloring books.

    I always had nightmares that I couldn’t find my classrooms.

    My daughter loved all of his books.

  3. ladynred Says:

    Great shot of the crayons. Nice color too!

  4. mjd Says:

    Hey Gawilli,
    I have given you an award, well actually two awards. Look at my August 11th post to read about your honors.

  5. A. Says:

    Great picture and a great post! Not sure when your schools go back, in the UK and France it’s usually the first week in September, but no matter how far ahead you start thinking, there is always a last minute scramble.

  6. meeyauw Says:

    how appropriate! Here’s mine:
    what if I forget to go to school and i’m asleep at 10am because I stayed up all night long like i do in the summer and the principal called me up and says, “well? you coming in or what?”

    I actually have that actual nightmare every single august! year after year!

    Your post is so good.

  7. Michelle Says:

    Love the photo. You may know I’m also a big fan of crayons and colouring.

    Shel Silverstein is a genius.

  8. her indoors Says:

    love the photo, yes love the smell of the crayons too, and i love colouring in, it is so relaxing.
    enjoyed the whatif, never heard it before

  9. corky Says:

    Great pic! The best time of the year is about to start. Fall, football, school, football, football and football, and then the holidays of course.


Leave a Reply

