Aint Nothin’ Better!

August 19, 2007

My daughter’s friend, Lisa, came by today with a huge, and I mean HUGE, sack of homegrown tomatoes from her back yard. Yippee! Lisa starts her Master Gardener studies in September and I say Go Lisa! Go Lisa! We have not had tomato plants for the last several years because the one remaining full sun spot was overtaken by a tree, which is now gone by the way. So there’s always next year!

Anyhoo, its been almost a year since I posted about the joys of a succulent, juice running down your arm, homegrown tomato. And just about as long since I had one. I would be hard pressed to find anything finer than this. No genetically engineered wannabe can even come close. Boo to the ones at the grocery.

Armed with a salt shaker we vow to do our best to devour each and every one. Then there’s always pasta with fresh tomato and herbs, stuffed tomatoes, and the ever lovin’ BLT. We do have a plan to freeze the ones we cannot get to. But that’s just in case…

tomotoes.jpg

There’s nothin’ in the world that I like better than
Bacon, lettuce and home grown tomatoes
Up in the morning and out in the garden
Pick you a ripe one, don’t get a hard ‘un
Plant ’em in the springtime eat ’em in the summer
All winter without ’em’s a culinary bummer
I forget all about the sweatin’ and the diggin’
Every time I go out and pick me a big’un

Homegrown tomatoes, homegrown tomatoes
What’d life be without homegrown tomatoes
There’s only two things that money can’t buy
That’s true love and homegrown tomatoes

Homegrown Tomatoes by Guy Clark

9 Responses to “Aint Nothin’ Better!”

  1. Betty Says:

    I’m drooling. I don’t know how long it has been since I had a real homegrown tomato. Too long.

  2. rain Says:

    Yum….don’t forget the tomato juice…

  3. her indoors Says:

    i am jealous, love homegrown tomatos do you want to share?!

  4. corky Says:

    I’ve never really liked homegrown tomatoes because you can’t make wine with them.

  5. Nessa Says:

    You are so right. A thick slab of homegrown tomato on white toast with Miracle Whip. Yum.

  6. Michelle Says:

    Oh gawd, how I loathe a tomato on it’s own. I have no idea what it is, but the taste makes my face want to implode.

    That said, I have some serious appreciation for what gorgeous tomatoes these are because I happen to loooove tomatoes in pasta, pasta sauce, etc. And definitely in my home made guacamole!

    Good eatin’ to you and Willi!

  7. mjd Says:

    Tomatoes are all right, but I am not much of a connoiseur, Although admittedly the homegrown fruits are better, I will usually buy them at the store. One year, someone had given us homegrown tomatoes. The family was eating supper, and Luke exclaimed. “There is something wrong with these tomatoes. They are red.” (Poor deprived child)

  8. Big John Says:

    Everthing ‘homegrown’ always tastes better.


  9. I love, love, love home grown tomatoes! When I was a little girl I would make a tomato sandwich with white break, mayo and thick tomato slices. I loved the way the bread turned pink with juice!


Leave a Reply

