Why doest thou blog?

August 26, 2007

Lisa says, “I’d like to know more about you, what makes you tick. I’d like to know how you started blogging.” I didn’t even know what a blog was until I began working on a website for church. The pastor was interested in blogging and so I had to learn about it to get him set up. He has a pretty radical theology and we thought it would be a good way to get the word out. I was prompted by Mjd, who had the skinny because her lovely daughters-in-law Frema and PJ Librarian, and her son Luke, were bloggers supremo. By the time I was done I decided I might enjoy it myself. Before long all of us were blogging; Mjd, Daddy D, Willi, PT and me. I think I enjoyed it the most when Willi was blogging, but as work became more demanding his blog fell by the wayside. I miss that. I love it that my daughter has a blog now. Its a side of her that I have not seen for awhile.

Did you keep a diary under lock and key safely hidden as a child? Do you still? I had a diary as a kid. Not because I had a needed to write things down, but because everyone else had one and I wanted one too. I may have written in it once or twice. After I got it, it didn’t make much sense to write secrets in a book that was hard to hide and not really very secure. I could open it without a key for Pete’s sake. So much for that. Then for awhile in ’97 and ’98 I kept a journal. Those were some pretty dark and scary times. Most of the entries start with “Boy am I confused.” or “Dear God,”. It was a good way to think through things. Then Willi came along and I didn’t need it anymore. Now he bears the brunt of my confusion. He’s a good listener; patient for the most part, and far more responsive. Let’s just say he tolerates me well.

Do you share the same things on your blog that you would have, or do, in your diary? Nope. Not often anyway.

Why did you start blogging and why do you continue? When I started, I wanted a way to share memories with my children and grandchildren; things that would otherwise get lost and forgotten. I wanted a way to speak up for things I believe in. I wanted to share things that I enjoy, like new tunes or a good read. Additionally I have developed a love for taking pictures. I guess I am amazed that I can do that as I never fancied myself that way. Those are the reasons I continue.

Plus, blogging is kind of like having a whole bunch of pen pals, only you don’t have to wait so long for a reply.

May as well throw in any roadblocks you have run into while blogging. Life gets in the way. Sometimes I think about throwing in the towel because I don’t have time to post or visit. I always seem to work through it. I’m not sure, but I think I would miss it. Oh heck. Of course I would miss it.

Especially during football season.

If you still have your old diaries we’d love to see them.

journal-001.jpg

 

journal-2-001.jpg

 

You didn’t really think I was going to show you the inside, did you?

28 Responses to “Why doest thou blog?”

  1. daddy d Says:

    Life is very busy. There is so much to do. But reading thoughts of others is a joy. That adds to the quality of life in a very important way. Keep up the good work.

  2. gawilli Says:

    Daddy D, you always see things in such a positive way – no lemons for you!

  3. Nikki Says:

    The diary covers are lovely. I never kept one as a kid. I didn’t have the patience for them.

    Great Fun Monday post!

  4. mjd Says:

    I remember your first post, and maybe I had the honor of being the first commenter. To me your writing is like hearing you speak. That is more true about your blog than any other blogger that I read. If the internet community has had the pleasure of meeting you through blogging, I think that they know you through your kind thoughts and astute observations of your blog.

  5. gawilli Says:

    Mjd, you were my first commenter, and Daddy D was the second. This has been such a wonderful experience and I am so glad we have had it together.

  6. swamp witch Says:

    Just popped over to say hey before starting this task of packing…Next week, I’m headed to your archives to “refresh” my memory, “refresh” my memory, “refresh….on where we started out together.

  7. her indoors Says:

    no no no dont throw in the towel please dont. when i first started blogging people would post nearly daily, everyone has now dropped off to just a few a week, hey even one a week is enough to keep us coming

  8. beccy Says:

    I love your diaries, they are beautiful.

  9. Willowtree Says:

    That was a very clever way of approaching this assignement, taking each question individually…very methodical! Oh, and very interesting too.

    I was wondering about Willi, as I’ve rarely seen his posts.

  10. tod Says:

    It is hard to keep up with all the posts sometimes. I always read the blogs in my link list and would like to add a lot more but then I would spend my whole life online!

    I know what you mean about throwing in the towel. But then I realised that I didn’t have to post everyday. And now the pressure is off I post whenever I feel like it.

  11. Hootin' Anni Says:

    What a great post! I love how you broke everything down into sections with what Lisa asked of us this week!!

  12. Debbie Says:

    Great post. 🙂

  13. Lisa's Chaos Says:

    Dang, no inside photos? Just one? Ok then. I never knew or thought about a preacher or church having a blog. What a neat idea. I did find some nun blogs not too long ago though.

  14. chrisb Says:

    Spoil sport not showing us the inside of the those attractive diaries!! The penpal take is spot on and as a teenager I had a couple of good penpals – one lived in Ohio I remember funny how that popped into my head!!


  15. You’re right, Gawilli, and I had never thought of blogging in quite that way……it is like having a bunch of pen pals.

    I would think twice before sharing some of the garbage I wrote in my teenaged diaries. Not so much that the content was big, dark secrets. I was just such a sappy, romantic, goofy kid!!

  16. Karmyn R Says:

    I agree with the whole “pen-pal” aspect – Blogging is like that but MUCH faster!

    I have some old journals from when I was in Highschool and College – they are deeply hidden away. Part of me wants to burn them because if my children ever found them – aiyyyyai. But – when I’m dead and gone it will make for some good reading for my grandchildren!

  17. gawilli Says:

    Swampy – I had posted about IBC and shortly after I think you happened on my blog. I found your comment regarding that on October 3. Does that refresh?

    Her Indoors – I’ll keep the towel on the rack for now. A week works good for me.

    Thanks Beccy. I think my daughter bought the smaller one. It is really very pretty.

    WT – Willi’s blog was Boats to Build. It is still there, but he has not come back to post for quite awhile. He still checks in to see what I am doing. We had a lot of fun with this for awhile.

    Tod – I’m sure glad you didn’t throw in the towel!

  18. gawilli Says:

    Hootin’ Anni – WT calls it methodical. That’s a pretty nice way of putting it. I think some would call it frustrating!

    Thanks Debbie!

    Lisa – Pastor Tim had a pretty good thing going for awhile, but it seems to have gone by the wayside. I think unless you are really into and make some friends, it is not near as fun. Nice topic this Fun Monday! Thanks.

    Chris – I never had a pen pal that could stick with it. I couldn’t either for that matter.

    Songbird – I understand 100% about being sappy and goofy. Some would say I am still that way!

    Karmyn – I had that very thought when I pulled these two out of the drawer. They are really not for anyone else but me. Want to have a bonfire?

  19. Robocop Says:

    Pen pals. Now THAT is a cool way of looking at blogging.

  20. Michelle Says:

    Oooo…that last journal cover is so pretty. Looks like a Klimt piece of artwork.

  21. Shauna Says:

    That’s really cool that you have your old diaries. I never really got into keeping them. . .Guess I had too many other things. . . hehe

  22. corky Says:

    It’s hard for me to blog during football season, but I’ll find away. I’m glad you started blogging Gawilli. 😉

  23. graymama Says:

    I always LOVE reading your posts ❤ Hopefully my time to comment will increase now that Buddy is starting orientation for school tomorrow, and I will have 4 hours of free time every morning starting on Thursday of next week.

    I am happy that you have not thrown in the towel. Your blog and friendship adds so much warmth to my life as well as many others 🙂

  24. Nessa Says:

    I loved hearing how you got started.

  25. gawilli Says:

    Robocop – Are you a new pen pal?

    Michelle – And it is!

    Shauna – too busy to write in a diary is a good thing!

    Corky – I don’t have a problem blogging during football at all. Imagine that!

    Graymama – Good to have you back. I hope Buddy really enjoys his four hours…and you too!

    Nessa – It was interesting to see the similarities in how all of the Fun Monday people got started – mostly as a communication tool for their families.

  26. pamela Says:

    wonderful the way you covered all the questions with such easy grace.

    (I’m sorry I missed being able to participate this week – but we can’t do it all.)

  27. Big John Says:

    Very interesting !
    My daughter set me up with my first blog nearly four years ago. At the time I said “OK I’ll give it a go” never dreaming that I would continue for more that a couple of days.

  28. Cazzie Says:

    Nope, my diaries are still at my mums place..and so I don;t know, she probably burnt them 😦


Leave a Reply

