Maximum Density

September 1, 2007

My daughter stopped by work one morning this week. I looked up from my desk and there she was. It was a nice surprise. Then I remembered what it was she came by to pick up. My mind was full and somehow the arrangements we had made didn’t make it into my mental “to do” list. I don’t remember if she asked me what, or how I was doing, but all I could think of was, “Trying to keep my head above water!” Something akin to this little fire plug.

purdue-2.jpg

I’m sure everyone’s life moves in cycles of comfort to overload. I had a boss one time who likened it to a roller coaster. He said you had to learn to enjoy the ride. It sounds good in theory. Particularly if you like roller coasters.

louisville-skyline-clear-picture.jpg

What I need is a vacation. Just a little three or four day jaunt would do. Head on down to Louisville. Sit in some dive bar. With a cold one. Listen to some good tunes. Tim Krekel to be exact.

tim.jpg

mazzonis.jpg

Maybe stop by Mazzoni’s for some rolled oysters. And a cold one. And then we could hit Ear X-tacy and The Great Escape and pick up some new tunes. And then we could go by Guitar Emporium for Willi and Hadley Pottery and Louisville Stoneware for me. And then we could drive around and explore. And then we could go to Bluegrass Brewery and have a cold one. Then maybe we could go the rest of the way to Nashville and do a variation of the same thing down there. Maybe we will need a few more days.

Ok. I feel a little better now. Fall break is just around the corner. I can make it.

I do think I will take a little blog vacation of sorts until the high tide that is life recedes. When I sit down at the computer now, work comes to mind and I find myself staring blankly into the screen. I need to pass on that for a bit.

So, I will see you on the flip side. Hopefully it won’t be all that long.

And soon enough it will be time for a real vacation!

 

14 Responses to “Maximum Density”

  1. tod Says:

    A vacation sounds like just what you need. Hold on a little bit longer, you can do it!

    I’ve been doing the “staring at the screen and thinking of work thing too.” It’s hard.

    But we will be here when you return, revitalised and ready to blog. 🙂

  2. Betty Says:

    Enjoy your time off from blogging. I know how hard it is to come up with ideas. Come back soon.

  3. chrisb Says:

    Everyone needs a bloggy break at some point. You’ll come back with lots of stories to tell.

  4. debi Says:

    I am back from my time off and I know what you mean. Love the pictures and wish that we had such places to enjoy ourselves. Hope to hear from you soon.

  5. mjd Says:

    Then, the water recedes as the water has receded from the fire hydrant, and life returns to some kind of rhythm. I will miss your blogging, and I miss seeing you and chatting with you. I hope that all is well for you very soon and that you squeeze in a vacation or two before the snow flies. Take care, GA.

  6. daddy d Says:

    Take care. Swim on through all that high water. See you on the other side on dry ground.

  7. Cazzie Says:

    We will be here whenever you return, and I am sure you are human…we all need a break sometimes!

  8. Big John Says:

    All those ‘cold ones’ sounds like my kind of ‘break’; and speaking of breaks I’m off to France for a few days next week. Hope that you enjoy your next one.

  9. Willowtree Says:

    See you on the other side. (oh, I’m not talking about death, just the bloggy vacation)

  10. corky Says:

    I would be careful about going to Louisville Kentucky if I were you… You might run into a Captain Corky there. 😉

    Don’t worry. This month is going to fly by.

  11. Nessa Says:

    Enjoy your break and I hope your vacation comes soon.


  12. Enjoy your break! We will miss you!

  13. nessa Says:

    Are you game? Please play with me.

  14. her indoors Says:

    hope all is well, missing you


Leave a Reply

