Willi’s Ribs

September 23, 2007

Lisa wants to see our favorite recipe, be it either because our grandmother wrote it, it’s the easiest thing we can slap together that everyone likes, it makes us feel healthy, it’s cheap, etc.

The best recipe Willi and I have found in recent years was for a Rub. We use it on steak, pork and chicken and it is a must when Willi smokes brisket and ribs. We give Steven Raichlen full credit for this easy and tasty seasoning. If you haven’t tried his Beer Can Chicken yet, you should. That is how we came across his recipe…

Beer Can Chicken and 74 other Offbeat Recipes

by Steven Raichlen

All-Purpose Barbecue Rub

1/4 cup coarse salt (we use Kosher salt)

1/4 cup dark brown sugar

1/4 cup sweet paprika

2 tablespoons coarsely ground pepper (we have experimented with different peppers and been happy, although we don’t use quite 2 tablespoons)

Put all the ingredients in a bowl and mix it with your fingers. Store it in an air tight container.

We make a huge batch about once or twice a year. We give lots of it away. We have even made it up to give to Willi’s staff at Christmas. The next year we got several empty Ball jars back for refills. Bet we sold a lot of cookbooks that year. Hey, wait a minute…

Now, here is how it works:

We soak the ribs in cider vinegar while Willi gets the smoker ready.

We drain off the vinegar and apply a plentiful layer of rub. All over.

When the smoker is ready, they are too. In they go and the lid comes down. We learned the first time out of the gate that we needed a thermometer on the smoker. It was a very good investment. The temperature is controlled with dampers on the smoke box and stovepipe.

Willi uses hickory for smoking. We have been fortunate to have had two friends bring down hickory trees and call us to pick up the wood.

They smoke for about 6 hours at 225 to 250 degrees. Every so often Willi sprays them down with his own mixture of cider vinegar, whiskey and beer. He doesn’t open the smoker much as it takes a bit for the temperature to come back up and prolongs the smoking time.

If you are wondering what those utensils are, they are called Pig Tail Food Flippers. They are outstanding. One of Sarah’s friends received them as a gift, but doesn’t grill. So they made their way to Willi. What a find.

Willi’s ribs are the best. He’s smokes a mean brisket, too. We’ll save that for another day.

17 Responses to “Willi’s Ribs”

  1. Blue Momma Says:

    It’s 10:30pm and now I’m starving for ribs! The recipe sounds great, but I should have waited until tomorrow to read it.

    I’m sure to dream about food all night tonight……

  2. Willowtree Says:

    Holy crap!!!! Now that’s what I call a cooking post!! I think I’m in love with Willi, but then that’s nothing new, most guys love their willies.

  3. nessa Says:

    I love ribs. Now I want me some.

  4. Debbie Says:

    Drool! That looks so yummy!!!

  5. theotherbear Says:

    Wow. I am so impressed – you win!

  6. Lisa Says:

    The rub sounds good, and I’m sure hubby would love the ribs, thanks for posting!

  7. Joy T. Says:

    Oh yum! Wish I had a smoker! The ribs look absolutely delicious.

  8. Kaytabug Says:

    If I had a smoker the hubs and I would be trying this out!!!
    They look finger lickin’ good!! Thanks for sharing!

  9. Susan Says:

    I’m drooling onto my keyboard. I want some and I haven’t even had breakfast yet!


  10. I have some ribs in the fridge. Now I know how to marinade ’em. Yummy.

  11. Tink Says:

    That sounds and looks so good! Thank you for sharing. I’m going to print this page out right now.

  12. daddy d Says:

    Oh, YES!!! I have been lucky enough to get to eat some of that work. The best!

  13. Pamela Says:

    the hubby came over and checked this one out.
    he was impressed.

  14. chrisb Says:

    I’m lol at willowtrees comment! This looks amazing I can almost taste it 🙂

  15. Robin Says:

    What a great idea for gifts! And those ribs? The pictures made my mouth water. GOOD recipe (I just ate lunch and I’m hungry again already :/).

  16. mjd Says:

    There is always good cooking at the Gawilli/Willi household, yum.

  17. dilling Says:

    that’s a lotta work!!!


Leave a Reply

