Waiting for Fall

October 7, 2007

Don’t wish your life away. That was what my mom use to say to me as I would stand in front of her, anxious for the next day to come. Usually I just set a good pout on my lower lip and made my way out of the room. She was right, though. But still, this many years later I find myself waiting anxiously for tomorrow. And the next. Until I am smack dab in the middle of the crisp days of autumn.

There is something in the turn of seasons that feeds my soul. I want the leaves to change colors and fall, and the cool evening breeze to blow gently through the windows as I sleep. I want to see the glistening frost on the green sleepy grass and on the rooftops of the houses across the street. I want to wear my sweater, and cook stew and bake bread, and stack firewood in a nice neat row. I want to dream of winter. I’ve said goodbye to summer. Now bring it on!

golden.JPG

 

Blade of Grass

Said a blade of grass to an autumn leaf, “You make such a noise falling! You scatter all my winter dreams.”

Said the leaf indignant, “Low-born and low-dwelling! Songless, peevish thing! You live not in the upper air and you cannot tell the sound of singing.”

Then the autumn leaf lay down upon the earth and slept. And when spring came she waked again — and she was a blade of grass.

And when it was autumn and her winter sleep was upon her, and above her through all the air the leaves were falling, she muttered to herself, “O these autumn leaves! They make such a noise! They scatter all my winter dreams.”

Kahlil Gibran

15 Responses to “Waiting for Fall”

  1. Jay Says:

    I don’t know if fall is really coming here this year or not. They keep talking about cold fronts and cooler temps, but it doesn’t get as cool as they say it will and then it warms right back up faster than they say it will. Temps were in the 90 degree range here over the weekend. That’s unacceptable!

  2. corky Says:

    It’s going to be 92 for the high today and 68 for the high tomorrow. The sad thing is that there’s been a drought here this year so the leaves won’t be very colorful or vibrant. Rats.

  3. dilling Says:

    I feel cheated out of summer…rain, rain, rain…and fall feels like winter, with more rain, and a cold wind already. Big sigh….I guess I should get myself one of the natural light lamps cuz it looks like it may be a long, grey winter ahead.

  4. tod Says:

    Great pic! This is my favourite time of year, as long as the sun is shining.

  5. giveitatry Says:

    Good words to live….not wishing your life away. It seems to me that I am always waiting for something and that is the same thing. I am waiting my life away – not good.

  6. Tink Says:

    There aren’t any signs of fall here. Summer drags on forever and then one day… BAM. Cold sets in. That’s the one thing I miss about the north, all the beautiful colors.

  7. mjd Says:

    Fall does seem to be creeping slowly to Indiana. Did the temperature reach 90 yesterday? Today, my thermometer read 86 degrees at 4:30.

  8. daddy d Says:

    The fall is a great time of the year. I like the color of the leaves. The change will be here and it will be cold, dark, and wet. But then again will come spring and summer. It is the cycle of seasons that adds to the joy of life.

  9. Susan Says:

    What a great little story and has the ring of truth.

    Fall is well here…it seems as though we never really got summer. sigh…

  10. gawilli Says:

    Jay – Sounds like your weather is just about like ours. And I agree. Its unacceptable!

    Corky – I’m disappointed to hear that as we are headed your way next week!

    Dilling – I guess you are right about winter, but I kind of look forward to fireplace days and the nesting that comes with cold weather.

    Tod – Sun. Yes that is a must. Soon the sunny part of the day here will only be while I am at work. By the time I get out the night will be falling.

    Giveitatry – Waiting my life away is a good way of saying it. I too fell like I am waiting.

    Tink – I love the change of seasons. I don’t know how well I would do with less. On the other hand, if I could have cool comfortable weather all of the time I think I would be happy.

    Mjd – If it didn’t reach 90, it was pretty close. I can hear the rain starting as I write. Hopefully we will get our cool down now.

    Daddy D – And we all need a little joy!

    Susan – Really our summer seems to have lasted forever this year. I’m really looking forward to the change that fall brings.

  11. Michelle Says:

    Autumn is indeed lovely.

    I love the bit you added at the end of your post.

    Oh! — and I just spotted the new stove at the start of the previous post. Good gravy! It’s HUGE. I love how much space there is on the top between the elements. May the oven bring you many loaves of perfectly baked bread. 🙂

  12. debi Says:

    Oh you put it just perfectly. I love it. Bought yeast on Saturday and will bake bread tonight. I used to think it was just me that craved fall. That everyone loved spring. But no, it’s fall that we all anticipate. I had to sleep in a pair of socks last night. I LOVE IT!

  13. gawilli Says:

    Michelle – I remember reading Kahlil Gibran when I was in high school. It was nice to come across that verse again.

    Debi – Ah! Socks! Yet another thing we have in common!


  14. Wow, that is a great post!! I love fall just as much… and the Gibran, that’s really cool–I never read that before.


  15. It is finally a bit cooler in southwest Arkansas. Not much, but at this point I’ll take any lowering of the temperature!!


Leave a Reply

