It Weighs a Ton

October 28, 2007

Candid Karina wants to see the items we just cannot leave home without; the things that make women’s purses so heavy and men’s pockets so messy. This seemed like a good idea until I emptied out my purse, but now it looks as though there isn’t much to it.

Then why does it weigh so much?

Other than the standard wallet (note to self: this one’s looking kind of ragged) and writing utensils, the most important are keys. I found out a long time ago that they needed to be attached to something too big to lose. Locker pins work really well. Then I found out having two work keys exactly alike was too time consuming, so the one that opens my office door has a splotch of white-out on it. And after having been locked out of my house this summer by way of a power outage (electric garage door), Mjd presented me with a lovely key ring which now holds my front door key. I did hook it to a locker pin though. Don’t want to lose it.

purse-2.jpg

Things I can’t live without (their absence makes me miserable) are my camera, iPod, and the CD opener, which is that little round blue disc next to the pens. It’s the best thing since sliced bread. There is nothing worse than struggling with the packaging on a new CD when what I really want to do is pop it in the player on the way home from the music store. It cuts through the plastic and the adhesive strip in seconds flat. Never leave home without it.

Everything else is really a luxury. Except my medication and a nail file. And the Chap Stick. And my glasses, which are usually on the top of my head. But the case is in there. My work ID badge is around my neck.

One thing I take with me that doesn’t go in my purse is a travel cup full of coffee. Well it might fit in there, but it could be messy.

What you won’t see is my cell phone, unless I am on a business trip and by myself.

So there you have it. What is it that you can’t live without?

24 Responses to “It Weighs a Ton”

  1. daddy d Says:

    Keys are a very good idea. They not only work where you work. They also, work when you get back from work. Keys for sure are right there for number one to take with you out of the house.

  2. mjd Says:

    My purse is heavy too, but not because of the vital stuff inside. My purse is heavy because I put more and more stuff in it and hardly ever take anything out. Then, strangely I will carry another bag filled with more stuff that I might need. I really do need to organize my life.

    Where did you get the CD opener?

  3. gawilli Says:

    Daddy D – you also realize just how important they are when you don’t have them!

    Mjd – If you figure out the organization thing, let me know. Maybe we need to get Willowtree to give us some tips – he sure has it down. The first CD opener I had was one someone brought back from a conference – it was a freebie at one of the booths. They didn’t want it – but I did! When we were in Louisville I picked up a few more. I’ll bring you one.

  4. Serina Says:

    I have a giant safety pin just like that. Awesome. Happy Monday!

  5. giveitatry Says:

    I forgot to mention my lip stuff, doggone it. That is some good stuff you have there!
    Have a great Monday!

  6. Willowtree Says:

    Best to the chapstick holder, you CD opener is the best thing I’ve seen so far! Although I don’t buy enough to make it worthwhile (but I know you are very in to music).

  7. Willowtree Says:

    That should have said “Next to the chapstick…”

  8. Hootin' Anni Says:

    My oh my…..that’s a heavy load!!

    Mine’s posted. Happy MOANday!!!!

  9. corky Says:

    Yeah, but where are the rolling papers? 😉

  10. Jodi Says:

    All of those pennies will weigh you down, my friend!! You carry as many of pens and markers in your purse as I do.

    Happy Monday!

  11. Karina Says:

    I don’t buy many cds, but I love that cd opener thing! And trust me, my purse is just as messy (if not messier) as yours…it’s just that I picked only the “must haves”…everything else in my purse is superfluous…and yet, I carry it every day! haha…

    I also have to have a big keychain so I don’t lose my keys, and so they are easy to locate among the mess in my purse!

  12. Susan Says:

    A CD opener? How clever!

    I’m just wondering where all the papers are? Directions to here and there, pamplets, reciepts, trash…Oh wait…that’s my purse!

  13. Sandy Says:

    I love the CD opener! I am putting that on my list of must-haves from visiting everyone today. So far, I need the CD opener, the pepper spray and the chicken poop. I love Mondays!


  14. I want one of those CD openers!!!

  15. Tink Says:

    Ooo, where do I get one of those neat CD opener do-hickies? I want! 🙂

  16. chrisb Says:

    I think you have started a new trend in CD openers! and you’ve got just the bag for all your must haves!!

  17. Joy T. Says:

    I’ve never heard of a CD opener and I’m sitting here quite intrigued. Only thing is….I can’t find the darn thing in the picture?? I am definitely going to have to google this. It’ll save throwing the CD’s out the window in frustration :o)

  18. julie Says:

    wow, thats a serious handbag


  19. You are the only one who had a CD opener. My CD collection is exclusively of the preschool variety, but that might be something I invest in for the next phase of life.

  20. Pamela Says:

    I thought I was the only one who couldn’t open a CD. That is a great tool. I saw your other post about it, too.

    Looks like acid reflux meds. I only take mine once a day – so unless I’m traveling I don’t need to take it with me.

  21. Sirdar Says:

    Do I see a kitchen sink in there too? 😆

    Sure is a lot of stuff. Thank goodness I’m a guy and only take what fits in my pockets…and on my shoulders.


  22. I don’t carry a purse. I wear a reversable jacket with pockets inside and out nine months of the year and carry:
    outer left pocket – wallet.
    outer right pocket – keys and pen
    inner left pocket – comb and handicapped parking tag
    inner right pocket – check book

    In summer, I try to get along with just wallet and keys in my pants pockets.

  23. dilling Says:

    My purse has one red wallet, my keys(unless I am driving) and my camera. Sometimes a pen, but I have usually lost it. I only carry the purse for the camera. If I didn’t take the camera everywhere, the wallet and keys would just be in a pocket…
    oooh….doggy poo bags for when we’re out walking…

  24. Tiggerlane Says:

    I can’t stand coins in my wallet – it makes it extremely heavy! The CD opener is a brilliant idea – never heard of it!


Leave a Reply

