What was she thinking?

November 1, 2007

While trolling the boxes of old pictures my mom left, I came across this one. Like many of the other ones, there are no names or dates. Often I recognize a familiar face or location, but this picture means little. I have no idea who these people are. But the picture is striking to me just the same and I keep coming back to it, mainly because of the lady in the hat.

caption.jpg

The attitude that overflows from this old black and white glossy is a little irritating to me. And she’s probably not even around anymore! Wouldn’t you like to know a little more? Did she think this was attractive? Did she not want her picture taken? She certainly posed for it. Maybe she wanted to be the center of attention, and she wasn’t.

If a picture says a thousand words, what does this one say? Are you thinking the same thing I am?

9 Responses to “What was she thinking?”

  1. Betty Says:

    She looks a little irritated, I think. Maybe the photographer interrupted what she was saying, and she’s not used to that.

  2. mjd Says:

    All of the above. The other two in the photo seem congenial and friendly. Maybe the lady in question is putting on her mysterious Greta Garbo pose. But didn’t Greta “Vant to be left alone.?”

    Is there a date on the photo? I wonder if it was taken in the 1940’s.

  3. tod Says:

    I love B&W photo’s. I am always going through them at markets. She does look stern but I think she thinks she looks elegant and aloof.

  4. daddy d Says:

    I don’t know quite what to think. However, there is some character in that picture.

  5. dilling Says:

    ms. cranky-pants…..

  6. gawilli Says:

    Betty – maybe that was it. It sure was a look to kill. If it was me I probably wouldn’t have had the nerve to take the picture.

    Mjd – I vould have left her alone! There is no date, but I’m guessing you’re right judging by the rest in the box.

    Tod – I love them too! And boy there are a lot.

    Daddy D – Character. That’s for sure.

    Dilling – now that’s what I’m talking about!

  7. Susan Says:

    It looks like the man across from her is laughing at her. I’m guessing that she’s trying to look sophisticated and like she hasn’t had a just bit too much to drink…

  8. Hilary Says:

    I think the guy across the table just inched his foot up her skirt.

  9. gawilli Says:

    Susan – I hadn’t thought of the drink aspect, but it does look like he is laughing at her. He certainly isn’t laughing with her.

    Hilary – Or maybe that’s why the other one is smiling!


Leave a Reply

