Don’t Tell Grandma!

November 6, 2007

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

This week’s words are Old and Blue
thanks to Tink over at Pickled Beef.

This Stereoscope and set of stereoviews sat nestled in a woven basket beneath the end table in my Grandmother’s living room for as long as I can remember. There are a great variety of pictures, most of which I enjoyed on any number of occasions. If I was good. Judging by the dates on the pictures, I would quesstimate it is from the late 1800’s.

“Old”

old.jpg

This picture entitled “Gathering Daisies” is one that I remember well. There are others depicting landmarks and battle scenes. Some of them are even comedic. To all of these I was granted full access.

stereoviews1.jpg

This was one of the few I did not see until I was an adult. I’m not quite sure where it was kept, but I think Grandma found it unsuitable for my young eyes and hid it and the others away.

blue-1.jpg

I’m certain that back in the day this would have been considered…

“Blue” – Indecent; risqué.

blue-2.jpg

7 Responses to “Don’t Tell Grandma!”

  1. daddy d Says:

    Maybe blue, but maybe it is just the joy of fresh out doors for that young lady to the left.

  2. coffeypot Says:

    Scandalous! Those hussies have no respect for them selves and should be whipped to within a thread of their lives. And mad to stand up in church so the congregation can pray for them.

    My next door neighbor had one and I use to go though a shoe box full of pictures. It was the first 3-D that I can remember seeing.

  3. Jay Says:

    That stereoscope is way cool!

  4. mjd Says:

    Perfect representation of old and blue at the same time. If there is a prize for the Weekly Words, you should win. That looks a very naughty picture for the times, and it lseems like the girls are enjoying this naughtiness.

  5. gawilli Says:

    Daddy D – That’s sure one way of looking at it!

    Coffeypot – Hussie!! I haven’t heard that word in awhile. Usually it was preceded by “Shameless”!

    Jay – You can tell by the wear around the edges that we thought so, too.

    Mjd – They do look like they were having a good time, and it’s very tame compared to nowadays.

  6. Kristina Says:

    Those are amazing! What an original, interesting and fun WWC! 🙂

  7. Tink Says:

    Those are awesome!! Thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

