Sign of the Times?

November 8, 2007

The scrapbook this came from contains mementos from 1934 to 1936. From the front it looked like an ordinary business card. It wouldn’t be unusual to see a service station and lunch room coupled together, much like our gas station and Subway or McDonald’s combination I guess. I liked the Texaco star. You don’t see that much these days. Or a four digit phone number!

card.jpg

What caught my eye was actually printed on the back of the card. These were the days of Bonnie and Clyde, and Dillinger, Hitler and Mussolini, FDR and the Lindbergh baby, Fibber McGee and Molly. Amelia Earhart made her first solo flight. Babe Ruth hit his last home run. The WPA was created, along with Alcoholics Anonymous, and Social Security. Dick Tracy was on the radio and Monopoly was the game of the day.

card-001.jpg

Yet this paragraph could easily have been printed in the gripe column in my morning paper, with only a few alterations!

6 Responses to “Sign of the Times?”

  1. mjd Says:

    Very interesting paragraph, jammed-pack full words and thoughts. I find it interesting that this was written on the back of a business card. My parents were married in 1934 so this card came from their time frame. I wonder if the words generated business for the gas station/lunch room.

    Fibber McGee and Molly must have been on the radio for a long time. This radio program was on the air when I was young. Our neighbor used to call my sisters by names from the show. My sister Margaret was McGee. I ,of course, was Molly. My poor middle sister was left to be Fibber; I do not think that she cared for the nickname.

  2. Hilary Says:

    It’s a blog post all on its own. Nice find. 🙂

  3. corky Says:

    I guess the apocalypses was coming back in 1934 too.

  4. coffeypot Says:

    My sentiments exactly!

    My parents married in 1926, and I marvel at what the saw and went trough raising the five of us (they also lost two at birth.)

  5. dilling Says:

    yikes….
    I have a book of art prints by Gauguin(nice prints on good card stock, 11×17″) that was given away when you filled your tank sometime ago…quite some time ago…now all you get is a hole in your pocket.

  6. daddy d Says:

    I hope it is not rough all the time. Something good is needed to live with such pressure . There needs to be something going right some of the time.


Leave a Reply

