Feed Reader Junkie

November 9, 2007

Ok. I admit it. I’m addicted to Google Reader. And it’s all my daughter’s fault. One evening she was over and hooked me up. Now I can’t live without the feeds. Every time one of you publishes a new post, my feed reader automatically updates highlighting your blog and noting how many posts I have not seen yet. I can set it to see a summary of all new posts, or by clicking on the name of the blog I can see the posts starting with the most recent. The blog name is also a link, which opens in a new window or tab.

reader1.jpg

 

reader2.jpg

For those of you who, like my former self, don’t know about this wonderful technological tool, here is my very elementary explanation. You can google “Google Reader” and a link will magically appear. Click on the link and you will be guided through the set up, which can’t be that difficult since I have it. Now whenever I visit a blog that I would like to keep track of, I look for the little orange and white logo, or the word “feeds”, or the letters “RSS”. On Blogger it is at the very bottom of the page and says “Subscribe to: Posts (Atom)”. I click on whichever one it is and it gives me the option to choose from a list of readers. I choose Google and the blog then appears in my subscription list. Warning: the first time a link appears it will display several posts. As you click on that link, scroll through the posts and they will clear the reader.

This is the only feed reader I am familiar with, but I know there are more. If you are well versed at this, and I have led someone astray, please correct me. I know just enough about this to be dangerous. Ignorance is bliss and I’m pretty darn happy.

9 Responses to “Feed Reader Junkie”

  1. tod Says:

    The success of clicking on those links to subscibe depends a lot on the version of Internet Explorer that you are using. The other method to subscribe is to manually click on the add subscription button in your reader and copy paste the website address in.

  2. Jay Says:

    Google Reader has changed my life. Instead of clicking on each of the 70 blogs on my blogroll each morning and again in the evening to see who has updated, I just check in with reader. Actually, I leave reader open all the time and just minimize. The feeds update automatically without having to refresh the page. So I can just look over at the tab that reader is open in and it tells me how many blogs there are to read. Awesome!

  3. dilling Says:

    Hey! That’s me up there!!!! Thanks. It sounds technically challenging…I have been trying for three days to put a banner on my site but I give….UNCLE.

  4. her indoors Says:

    Jay got me into this, do find it is a bit slow sometimes but that is only like me!
    an now just learnt something else about the RSS symbol have i got one on my page if not why not and how do i?!

  5. Tink Says:

    I’m going to boycott this for the same reason I boycotted the NEW Blogger…

    Because I can.

    And because I’m too lazy to upgrade. 😉


  6. Wow! I’m gonna try Google reader!! Thanks for the info!

  7. mjd Says:

    Hmmm, maybe I will try this. I like to check my favorites, but sometimes I forget. Google Reader might be helpful.

  8. Carol Says:

    Oh baby, I know! I KNOW! It runs my existence…

    Carol

  9. Willowtree Says:

    Ha ha ha! I’ve only been talking about readers for a little over a year! But hey, at least you there.

    Greader is a pretty good one (that’s what us cool guys call Google reader), so is Bloglines. If you use Firefox you can just use Live Bookmarks.


Leave a Reply

