Just in Time for Christmas

November 11, 2007

Yep. It’s just around the corner. My neighbors across the street have already decked out their house complete with animated and fully lit reindeer, penguin, and Christmas trees. Lights line the front and top of the house and are accompanied by “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” repeated over and over. It’s Veteran’s Day for Pete’s Sake. We haven’t even had Thanksgiving yet.

neighbors.jpg

And our merchant friends are already gearing up, too. This was taken last weekend. I know I missed summer, but really. They can’t bring in the dollars fast enough.

christmas.jpg

It appears that everyone’s lining up to make the big buck. Including Donruss, the manufacturer of sports trading cards. BibleQuest, a division of Donruss Playoff has as its mission “to introduce children to the stories of the Bible through products that promote exploration, stimulate curiosity, engage the imagination and educate during positive, entertaining play.” One of those would be the “Days of Creation Cube Puzzle”, I’m guessing.

bbq2.jpg

In the board game “Exodus from Egypt” players move two pieces across the board, and the player who gets both game pieces into the Promised Land first wins. Aren’t they still arguing about who wins? There are action figures such as David and Goliath, as well as sets on “the birth of Jesus and the risen Savior, which can double as decorations around the holidays.” Each action figure is accompanied by a collectible card. I couldn’t find a Jesus action figure. Maybe that was going just a tad too far.

bbq1.jpg

There is also a series of 33 “story” trading cards that come with codes for the interactive website. A three-card pack sells for $.99. “Filling the long overlooked void in the market for the Veggie Tales graduate has brought us tremendous positive response,” Project Director Andy Osborne said in this press release.

I don’t know why this whole thing irritates me so much. People have been lining their pockets on the Bible for years. Heavens knows there is a market for it. And Christmas has become so commercial that maybe, in some contorted way, this brings it back around? It just seems to me that there is a greater “life lesson” to be learned by dropping that $14.97 in the red bucket outside of the store and going home to give thanks.

8 Responses to “Just in Time for Christmas”

  1. Carol Says:

    Oh, man… I SO agree! Christmas has completely lost its magic for me. It seems that the only way to gain it back is to head to some deserted island, light a few candles and simply be grateful.

    Carol

  2. dilling Says:

    makes me actually hate Christmas just a little bit… don’t we have Veterans to honor and family to celebrate still before the Great Shopping Season?
    Thankfully, my family and I boycotted this all years ago and donate what we might have spent on each other to St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital every year now….

  3. Betty Says:

    The retail businesses are all worried sick that they won’t make enough profit this year. But, I don’t think starting the old ball rolling this early will help them any. In fact, it may turn everyone off. I had certainly turned ME off. But, then, my family is paring back drastically, this Christmas, thank goodness.

  4. Jay Says:

    Corporations and retailers have done more to damage Christmas than all the people that Bill O’Reilly fights in his War on Christmas combined!

  5. gawilli Says:

    Carol – Actually that sounds pretty good! Where can we go?

    Dilling – Your family certainly has the right idea! I like that!

    Betty – We pared back last year and will do it again this one. And you know what? Nobody seemed to mind one bit.

    Jay – I couldn’t have said it better.

  6. tod Says:

    I love Christmas. But we refuse to acknowlege it before Dec 1st. We also do it in our own way and treat our house as our own desert island over Christmas and keep it simple.

    I know that all the hooha really winds peole up. I dunno, I just let it all wash over me.


  7. For some reason the Bible action figures and such really bother me, too. I’m not sure why it bothers me though. I’ll have to think about it.

    I dislike seeing the Christmas decor out before Halloween and/or Thanksgiving. And you are so right about giving to a worthy cause as a greater life lesson.

  8. gawilli Says:

    Tod – I love Christmas, too. There are so many things about it that I enjoy. I will try to let all the hooha wash over me.

    Songbird – I would like to know what you come up with after you thing about it.


Leave a Reply

