Weekly Words

November 13, 2007

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

This week’s words are Architecture and Red
thanks to Tink over at Pickled Beef.

ARCHITECTURE

Louisville – can you believe there are no cars or people?

architecture.jpg

Dallas – everything is big there.

skyline-through-the-trees.jpg

Nashville – my first attempt at night time photography.

church.jpg

RED

Barren River Lake, Kentucky

leaves.jpg

Stoney Run County Park, Indiana – anyone know what this is?

red-thing.jpg

Columbus, Indiana – a little red on red.

sumac-2.jpg

17 Responses to “Weekly Words”

  1. daddy d Says:

    Wonderful fall colors. I really like those pictures. Good work.

  2. mjd Says:

    Great choices for both words. Dallas is a beautiful city.

  3. corky Says:

    “Louisville – can you believe there are no cars or people?”

    LOL My mother freaked out about it when I took her to see down town when she came to visit.

  4. Jay Says:

    Lovely pictures. I really love the one of the church! I suck at night photography. I need to practice it more, I guess.

    Good job!

  5. Big John Says:

    Pretty good ‘first attempt’.

  6. her indoors Says:

    your first attempt at night photography is brilliant, what a beautiful church.
    and no, no idea what it is so please tell!

  7. Hilary Says:

    Beautiful pics! I too am eagerly awaiting reading what it is.

  8. coffeypot Says:

    I like the “reds.”

  9. Nessa Says:

    Spectacular pictures. I especially like the night time church and red leaves.

  10. Alli Says:

    Great pics! I especially like the church & red fall colors. As I have told everyone else with the changing Fall colors…I miss them! We don’t get much of that in Houston.

  11. Aunt Jackie Says:

    Love the architecture ones you took too… Red is such a very brilliant fall color. Great ones!!

  12. R.E.H. Says:

    Good WWC pictures there.

    I really liked the church picture – first night time shot? Well, you got good colors on it.

    And… that berry – kind of reminds me of raspberry…

  13. g-man Says:

    Wow, excellent composition on all. What kind of hardware do you use?

  14. gawilli Says:

    Hello all!

    Thanks for the good words on the pictures. Here are some answers to your questions:

    First of all – I have no idea what the red thing is! That’s why I asked. The size in the picture is pretty close to the real thing. There was no foliage. Only the red fruit of some kind, on a woody stalk. There were several of them, but not clustered together. I will keep looking – but if you find out, please let me know! Ah, the mystery!

    As for my “hardware”, some of the pictures were taken with my first camera, a Sony Cyber-Shot. The third, fourth and fifth pictures were taken with a Cannon EOS Rebel XTi, which I am just learning how to use. I had read that you needn’t attempt night photography without some kind of tripod, and a good first time investment was a monopod, which we picked up earlier that day. My lens is a Sigma DC 18-200 mm. That is the sum total of it. There were two pictures that I liked from my first night time try; the church, and another which is on the Photoplay Page (see tab at top) on this blog.

    Don’t forget – if you figure out what that red thing is, please let me know!


  15. I have several plant reference books at home (I’m at school now) and will try to remember to check on the red thing.

    I love all these pictures. The sumac on the slope with the bridge in the background is my favorite.

  16. Tink Says:

    How did I miss this? That last picture is simply STUNNING. Well done!


  17. […] 17, 2007 by gawilli Thanks to ArkansasSongbird, the mystery of the “red thing” is solved! She promised to track it down and she did just that. […]


Leave a Reply

