On Life

November 15, 2007

This week has been two weeks long, and it isn’t even over yet. The emotional roller coaster we fondly call life has taken its toll. So much so that Willi called me on his way home from work yesterday just to tell me how glad he is that we found each other. The most fitting phrase I can think of is uncomfortably numb. I find myself pondering the complexity of life as well as how very fragile it is. How is it that at the same time a child fights for his life, another chooses to end theirs? How can our lives be so tightly bound together, yet come apart so easily?

We believe we are able to choose our path, when in reality we can only put one foot in front of the other and be mindful of the obstacles that might befall us. And hold on to each other tightly. I guess that is what faith is. Faith that tomorrow will come, and it will be good. That those of us who are able, will band together and lift up those who are not. That the next friend who cannot find hope will let us into their darkness, so that we can pull them through. And that when our times are hard, they will be there to do the same.

10 Responses to “On Life”

  1. tod Says:

    Humbling thoughts…

  2. coffeypot Says:

    Sounds good. I just wish it was so.

  3. Nessa Says:

    I am so sorry you are having a hard time now. I hope things get better real soon.

  4. Tink Says:

    I feel this… With every pore.

  5. her indoors Says:

    well said
    and my prayers and thoughts are with the little boy

  6. Susan Says:

    We have to keep the faith…

  7. daddy d Says:

    Yes, faith is a step of a process of living life in a poistive way. Other steps are to dream big dreams, work hard on those big dreams, and cut out the negative.

    That is what I heard Sunday morning. Sounds like a plan.

  8. mjd Says:

    I am sorry to hear about the sadness that has taken place in your workplace family. Yes, let us band together and lift up those who are not able. I appreciate good friends like you and Willi who always offer hope to others. And I am glad that you and Willi found each other; and then, you found us.

  9. gawilli Says:

    Thanks to all of you for your warm thoughts.


Leave a Reply

