It’s Finally Friday!

November 16, 2007

Friday’s Feast

salad.jpg

Appetizer
What was your first “real” job?

My first real job, when I was still under my parent’s wingspan, was at Jo-Ann Fabrics on 45th and Broadway in Gary. It was a good job for a high school kid. They had a deal where you could purchase a pattern, fabric and all of the notions for 50% off if you agreed to let them display your finished product at the store for a month. Granted, I spent all of my paychecks at the store, but I worked one season ahead so my clothes were off of the display when I was ready to wear them. It was a nice place to work.

My first real job, when I was struggling to keep an apartment of my own, was at a florist shop. It was a one person operation. I was paid less than minimum wage for arranging, sales, and bookkeeping. The owner was a schmo. I could only manage the rent, $300.00 a month, if I had a roommate. I survived on beans and franks, and peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. My apartment was within walking distance so there was no travel cost. Although I loved what I did, it was probably the worst job I ever had.

Soup
Where would you go if you wanted to spark your creativity?

Shopping usually gets me going. You know how that works, right? You see something you like and then you look at the price tag. Then you say to yourself, “I could make that myself for a lot less”. Magazines are usually pretty good for getting the motor running, too. What I lack is time and energy. Where do you get that?

Salad
Complete this sentence: I am embarrassed when…

I make a mistake. I hate to make mistakes.

Main Course
What values did your parents instill in you?

The first that comes to mind is the value of a job well done. This came from years of my mom standing over me until I finished all of the 4-H projects I had taken. It was probably harder for her than it was for me, but I am so thankful she did. I learned to keep my commitments, and to do it right the first time – or do it over until it was. This probably has something to do with my answer to the previous question.

Dessert
Name 3 fads from your teenage years.

1. Hip-hugger bell bottoms with button flies.
2. Love beads and jewelry made with the peace sign.
3. Straight hair. The only way I could accomplish this was to either iron it, which always resulted in burns on the inside of my upper arm, or sleeping in rollers made from empty salt boxes or orange juice cans. No kidding. Then came crimped hair, the result of braiding thin waist length strands and waiting until it dried. Then I grew up.

4 Responses to “It’s Finally Friday!”

  1. mjd Says:

    Daddy D and I used to have “tube steaks” when we were first married and lived above Dr. Monroe’s office on 73rd Avenue. There are 10 hotdogs in a package, which makes more than a couple meals for a first year teacher and a college student.

    Oh the memories, I too occasionally ironed my wavy hair and used orange juice cans to straighten the waves. I still love hip-hugger bell bottoms.

  2. gawilli Says:

    Mjd – Those were good times, weren’t they? I’m sure glad I don’t have to sleep in the headgear anymore.

  3. daddy d Says:

    The past has good things to think about. The present also, as well as the future. Joy is added to life by thinking.

  4. tod Says:

    Ah the joys of renting and other peoples furniture. Freezing cold rooms and inventing new ways to cook mince. Those were the days. And I really mean that!


Leave a Reply

