Mystery Solved!

November 17, 2007

Thanks to ArkansasSongbird, the mystery of the “red thing” is solved! She promised to track it down and she did just that. “I believe what you photographed are the berries of a Jack-in-the-Pulpit, arisaema triphyllum.”

How about that?

red-thing.jpg

We have one solitary Jack-in-the-Pulpit in our yard, but it doesn’t produce anything that looks like this! I think I found out why in reading this article. Plants are both male and female, and only the females produce berries. The object of my photograph appears to be the red fruit of what would be more appropriately called a Jill-in-the-Pulpit. In addition, only the mature plants bear fruit. It will be interesting to see what the future holds for our little Jack, years down the line. Thanks, Songbird!

jack-in-the-pulpit-2b.jpg

4 Responses to “Mystery Solved!”

  1. mjd Says:

    Jack-in-the-Pulpit is one of my favorite wildflowers. The flower is fascinating itself. Additionally, I am always reminded about a song about the curious flower from the children’s opera, Hansel and Gretel, by Humperdinck. I am humming the tune in my thoughts right now.

  2. chrisb Says:

    This looks so like our ‘Cuckoo pint’ which I found in my garden earlier in the year.

  3. Andrée Says:

    I asked exactly the same question about my photo of this, and got the same answer. they are quite stunning in the woods, aren’t they? thank goodness for bloggers that help us identify things.

  4. gawilli Says:

    Mjd – I love it, too. My mom is the one that showed me my first one. It’s good to know what it looks like in the fall, now. I don’t know the song you are humming – maybe you could share it with me!

    ChrisB – I’m off to Google Cuckoo Pint!

    Andree – It was actually about the only bit of color on a somewhat drab forest floor! And yes, I am grateful for my blogging friends.


Leave a Reply

