Where I’m From

November 18, 2007

I am from fabric and fishhooks, from Betty Crocker and Craftsman.

I am from the house on the hill. From redwood and limestone, from father’s hammer and mother’s “we can do this”. From plaster walls and hardwood floors, and a big window over the kitchen sink.

I am from the basket of tomatoes on the back porch headed for canning jars and a pressure cooker. From rhubarb and teatherball, from lightening bugs and baselines between the oak trees.

I am from scarlet Geraniums and snow white Petunias arranged neatly in a planter on the side of the house. From Dutch Iris and Bells of Ireland, from Bleeding Hearts and Dutchman’s Britches. From Mrs. Erickson’s Gladiolas and Grandma’s Peonies.

I am from dinner at 5:30 and be home by nine, from commitment and compassion. From Lanie, Frank and Chris; children of another, but my parent’s just the same.

I am from stubborn women, patient men, and children who knew their place. From “little pitchers have big ears” and “respect your elders”.

I am from carry-in dinners and Sunday best. From families pressed shoulder to shoulder on oaken benches. From Zacheus and Jonah, from the patience of Job and the Old Wooden Cross. From choir robes and a starched white collar.

I am from Gene and Viola and the City of Steel. From Charles Marion and Nellie Mae, David Jubal and Edith Marie. From Swedish coffee and lemon meringue pie.

I am from songs sung softy by my father while I sat nestled in his lap, “I Dream of Jeanie with the Light Brown Hair”. From my mother as she stood at the kitchen sink, “I Love You a Bushel and a Peck”. From Hank and Elvis, Glen and Mahalia. From drums and bugles, and pianos and guitars.

I am from boxes overflowing with scrapbooks and photo albums. From aged newspaper clippings and mementos of days gone by. From pictures slid neatly in arrow shaped corners with finely written captions. From letters lovingly written and bound in ribbon.

I am from minute details and infinite memories of lives lived well.

Where are you from?

10 Responses to “Where I’m From”

  1. Donna Says:

    How beautiful! Just wondering by and thought I’d stop and say hello. Have a good one!

  2. coffeypot Says:

    Atlanta!

  3. gawilli Says:

    Welcome, Donna!

    Coffeypot, you are hysterical. I would expect nothing less from you!

  4. dilling Says:

    Pretty…I am from someplace I have not yet been.

  5. daddy d Says:

    Well said. To know so much is a good thing, history.

  6. Kaycie Says:

    How lovely. You write beautifully.

  7. Susan Says:

    Oh you did it! It’s beautiful!


  8. This is beautiful. Reading it brought tears to my eyes.
    There are so many commonalities in our lives.


Leave a Reply

