Giving Thanks

November 21, 2007

thanksgiving.jpg

Meme for the Thanksgiving week, brought to you by Randomness.

1. How do you celebrate Thanksgiving?

This year I thought it would just be Willi and I, but my daughter and her husband will be joining us after all. This makes me very happy. Willi is already scoping out the football line-up, which I will plan around. And we will try to get things done early enough so that our young ones can be on their way to their next engagement. So, we will eat, enjoy our family, snooze, and then eat some more.

2. Do you cook or go out to eat?

I cook, in the tradition of my mother. This Thanksgiving will be the first for my new stove, so I plan to put her through the works. I have never had Thanksgiving at a restaurant. Although we did talk about it this year, it just isn’t right for us.

3. What has been the best Thanksgiving for you? The worst?

The best in recent years was our first one together. We were just getting to know each other and spent a good part of the day raking leaves and playing outside, while the turkey slowly roasted. I remember Willi saying that this house reminded him so much of the one he grew up in. We enjoyed the dinner with my children and their friends around the table. I think we both were hoping there would be more to come. And there was. There hasn’t been a worst.

4. What are you thankful for?

I am thankful for the promise that each new day brings and the people and places that fill them. We are very blessed.

5. Any special traditions you do?

During the Thanksgiving holiday we hang the wreath on the front of the house. It signals the beginning of our Christmas celebration and has become a tradition for us. Last year we tried our hand at making our own. We will probably do the same this year.

an extra sidedish:
1. cranberry sauce or gravy? gravy!

2. white meat or dark? a little of both.

3. yams, with or without marshmallows? with lots of them.

4. stuffing or no stuffing? stuffing – herb seasoned and oyster.

5. pumpkin pie or apple pie? sweet potato!

Happy Thanksgiving to you all!

6 Responses to “Giving Thanks”

  1. daddy d Says:

    It is a fine time of the year. There is much to be thankful for this year and every year. Football on thanksgiving goes way back. My uncles used to watch it on turkey day. Such a tradition is a joy.

  2. debi Says:

    My best wishes for you and yours. Sounds like a great time. I also do Thanksgiving in the traditions of my dear mom. We are such a giant crowd now that we can no longer fit in my house. My daughter Heather has a large home and so with tables and chairs borrowed from church, all 25-30 family members and friends will be together for alot of food and togetherness. The holidays always make me miss my Mom and Dad and family times from many Thanksgivings ago. Blessings to you.

  3. corky Says:

    Very nice! Glad your daughter could make it. Happy Thanksgiving and happy football. 😉

  4. tod Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you guys!

  5. her indoors Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family x
    and please you need to tell me about yams and marshmallows?

  6. dilling Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving!!!!


Leave a Reply

