No Room for Pie

November 22, 2007

It’s exactly 6:19 p.m. and I’m ready for bed. Except now comes the part where the dishes are begging to be washed and the half-empty bowls of food need to be crammed into the already full refrigerator – the Tupperware shuffle. The new stove did a stellar job, even though I realized early this morning that the large oven was only big enough to hold the roaster. Nothing else. It turns out that even though it is as wide as the old one, it is not as deep. We ended up hauling the electric roaster up for the bird and the sides filled both the large and side ovens. When in doubt, punt.

We visited by phone with the family in Texas, and Willi’s daughter checked in. My son called from Kentucky. It was good to hear his voice and know that he is all right. My daughter and her husband joined us for the afternoon, and by now they are at their second and final stop on their Thanksgiving celebration. Willi has made his way downstairs for the Colts game, and I’m headed for the kitchen. Again.

Our hearts are full, as well as our tummies. The Sweet Potato Pie that was to be dessert, will be just as good for breakfast.

So, tonight I give thanks. It was a good day.

11 Responses to “No Room for Pie”

  1. coffeypot Says:

    Glad you had a rewarding experience and heard from everyone. Even Sweet Tea even called me from Belize. They were heading out to sea for Honduras.

    I enjoyed a small dinner with my sister, brother, Marni, Carl, J-Man and Bug. Watching the Falcons beat up on the Colts right now and… Yawn!

  2. daddy d Says:

    I am glad you heard from all family members. That and the food are the good part. The Colts may need some help in the second half of the game.

  3. mjd Says:

    Sweet Potato Pie…yum. Happy Thanksgiving to you and Willi.

  4. debi Says:

    Sounds like a peaceful cozy day. I just finished doing that same Tupperware shuffle. There really is no room. My day was a bit too hectic and my daughter and I are thinking of a new way to do Christmas that doesn’t chain us to the stove. Going out to eat is not an option. Any suggestions on an easy Christmas gathering? Um, for 20 people.
    Happy Thanksgiving.

  5. tod Says:

    Wow. Sounds like a good day. To a Brit like me it seems like you guys have had a whole practice run before Christmas. So does that mean your Christmas Day meal will be different?

  6. Hilary Says:

    Sounds like a lovely kind of tired. 🙂

  7. Nessa Says:

    Merry Belated Turkey Holiday. We used the grill to keep the birds warm while the biscuits cooked. I work today and my hubby is off, so he is doing the pots and final clean up. I am truly thankful. Come see my gobbler.

  8. dilling Says:

    I’m here for some stuffing leftovers for breakfast… my favorite….where do you keep the forks?

  9. coffeypot Says:

    I was a little early with that Falcon beating the Colts comment. I’m ashamed!


  10. Since part of my family hails from New England, my idea of the perfect thing to do with pumpkin pie is breakfast the day after.

    My son and DIL and I were invited to a friend’s house. There were four families, and eight pies. Even a bite of each fills one up.


  11. […] of time spent with family and friends. And good food. Mmm hmm. Two Thanksgiving Day stops meant one awesome dinner with all the classic sides (green bean casserole, corn pudding, both oyster and traditional […]


Leave a Reply

