Gypsy Soul

November 23, 2007

Sometimes the telephone is a lifeline of sorts. We really don’t get many calls, except for the occasional work call and my daughter. And Amvets. Most times the phone sits quietly and waits, which is all right with me. I don’t care to talk on the phone really. I admit that I’m not very good at it, so I generally take care of business and move on. Except for when my son calls. Like yesterday. Then I soak up every minute of it and sometimes it just isn’t enough.

When the dishes were done and put away I got out the box of pictures that is set aside with his name on it. One day he will settle down and take them home, but last night I was glad they are still here. I don’t really share much of him with you, but today I would like to. So, if you care to meet him, here is my son, Josh.

10 Responses to “Gypsy Soul”

  1. her indoors Says:

    thank you for sharing, i feel very honoured to meet Josh sorry he couldn’t be with you for your Thanksgivng Celebrations

  2. dilling Says:

    That was beautiful…I love anyone with a threadbare gypsy soul….and I think I recognize that look in his eyes…

  3. daddy d Says:

    Willie let me know Josh. Sons are different than daughters. That is my guess.

  4. mjd Says:

    This is a wonderful way to meet your son, Josh. Someday we will meet in person, and I will know him right away because we have been introduced.

    Do you think that maybe there is a little gypsy soul in all of us?

  5. gawilli Says:

    Her Indoors – Thank you.

    Dilling – Me, too. I never noticed it before, but as I put this together there is one picture of him at Christmas where he looks so much like his Grandma Jane it’s uncanny. I believe she had a gypsy soul, too.

    Daddy D – My son and daughter have some of the same qualities, but I suppose they are more different than they are alike. But then again, we are all different. And that’s a good thing.

    Mjd – Thanks. I would like for you to meet Josh. And I do think there is a little gypsy soul in all of us. There is in me anyway.

  6. tod Says:

    That was great, thanks for sharing. 🙂

  7. Hilary Says:

    Totally touching and tender.

  8. coffeypot Says:

    Pleasure to meet you, Mr. Josh. Look forward to shaking your hand one day.

    Gawilli, it is always good to two-step with Willie, too. Good choice of music.

  9. gawilli Says:

    Thanks, Tod – It was a very therapeutic endeavor for me. I bet I have watched it a dozen times today already.

    Hilary – It touches me also. Thanks.

    Coffeypot – I think the two of you would find a lot to talk about! And you’re right – it is always good to two-step with Willie.

  10. Susan Says:

    This is beautiful…I’m not sure why, but meeting your Josh brought tears to my eyes. Thanks for sharing him


Leave a Reply

