28 Years

November 26, 2007

That’s a mighty long time. In fact it’s just about my daughter’s lifetime to date. As I write, I’m listening to the Eagles first studio album in 28 years. I absolutely cannot believe how good it is. Arkansas Songbird, if you are reading this, I know you are going to say “I told you so“. But honestly, I had no idea. Really. These guys are old. They’re older than me. How in the world can they still sound so tight? What the heck is up with that? This could have easily been released in 1980. That’s how good it sounds. My gosh.

I liked these guys even before they were the Eagles, back in 1971 when Glenn Frey and Don Henley played behind Linda Ronstadt, soon to be joined by Bernie Leadon and Randy Meisner. Joe Walsh had just left the James Gang and was playing with Barnstorm. Timothy B. Schmit was with Poco, replacing Randy Meisner.

I was in high school when their first album came out with Take it Easy. Desperado was released the year I graduated, followed by On the Border in 1974 and One of These Nights in 1975. Hotel California came out the year my son was born, and The Long Run came out shortly after my daughter came along. These were the songs I was listening to when I truly became of age. And then nothing new for 28 years. That’s an awful long time. And this album is something. Two discs. Twenty new songs. And just like the rest of their albums, you have to soak up every one. Good stuff. I am just amazed. And so happy. It just feels good. OK. I’m done now.

longroadoutofeden.jpg

12 Responses to “28 Years”


  1. I told you so!!! Seriously, I love the CD set, too!!

  2. coffeypot Says:

    I love the Eagles. Always have! They ARE older than you. They were interviewed on 60 Minuets Sunday, and they are all over 60 years old. Amazing!

  3. Willowtree Says:

    Geez, Don Felder gets screwed again!

  4. gawilli Says:

    Songbird – Yes, and you were right!

    Coffeypot – I saw them on 60 Minutes – it was great!

    WT – Yes, I’ve read about his termination and his lawsuit. His book should be an interesting read. I saw the Eagles at Alpine Valley and the image of Don Felder and Joe Walsh standing side by side, mirror images of each other, matching licks on Hotel California remains crystal clear. I have a few of his solo attempts, but they never quite did it for me. The last article I read about him says that he would like to reach out to them since they spent a lot of years together, but it sounds to me like that bridge was burnt long ago.

  5. Willowtree Says:

    That bridge wasn’t burned, it had a nuclear bomb dropped on it. I can see Frey and Henley’s point though, they were there from the beginning, and they did write most of the songs (from what I can tell, the acrimony was over Felder wanting equal royalties).

    All that aside, I totally agree with you about their talent. I recently bought the double DVD of their (I think) 2006 Australian tour. To me it seemed fresher than a lot of their earlier performances and that can’t be said for all of the Heritage bands.

  6. daddy d Says:

    I think is great that music history is known. I let music go in one ear and out the out. It is good stuff. It just does not stick with me.

  7. corky Says:

    I’ve been obsessing on the song, New Kid In Town on You Tube lately. I’ve always liked the Eagles. Definitely a very talented and unique band. I’ll have to check their new album out.

  8. gawilli Says:

    Corky – Thanks for the link! Try this one. Outstanding.

  9. tod Says:

    I haven’t thought about The Eagles in a long time. I think I have some Christmas present downloading to do!

  10. Willowtree Says:

    gawilli – That clip you linked to is from the DVD I was talking about. It’s a double DVD and it’s all as good as that!

  11. gawilli Says:

    WT – I thought it might be when I found it. I wonder if it is still available.

    I took the new CD to work this week and it has been passed around our whole office. This morning someone came in looking for it and another had picked their own copy up last night. It’s a weiner too I think.


Leave a Reply

