Glad That’s Over

December 2, 2007

Well. No mo NaBloPoMo. I had to force myself not to post until tonight so I could get on to some other life type things. Not. It was a challenge. A commitment. It’s done. Amen.

snow.jpg

It was an interesting weekend. What started out like this yesterday afternoon, turned into one raging storm. By 8:00 last night we were covered in one gigantic layer of ice. We spent a good part of the evening pushing cars out of our front yard and back onto the road. It never ceases to amaze me. Why, when there is absolutely no traction, do people insist on trying to get up the hill? All they have to do is go down one block and follow the road around. They end up in the same place. And there is NO HILL! Sheesh. One poor woman slid sideways coming down the hill and just parked it. She wasn’t taking any chances.

Overnight the temperature climbed 30 degrees, the wind picked up, and by this morning everything was bone dry. So much for that photographic moment.

The biggest part of today was spent cleaning and getting things ready for the holidays. Some people count days before Christmas. I count weekends. And they’re passing quickly. Next weekend comes the tree. The weekend after we are headed South to Louisville if the weather holds out. For awhile it looked like a nightmare in my living room, but finally there is some semblance of order.

There are so many things I want to talk about. The Pope’s pontification relegating all the bad in the world to Atheists. The lack on the part of the government to provide adequate care to soldiers and veterans in the wake of increased suicides. The local tree farm sending Christmas trees to the troops. The fact that we spent more on bird seed this weekend than on our own food. And the feeders were empty just as soon as we filled them. The fact that Blogger won’t let me link to my blog anymore when I comment on your posts. But for now I’m just going to have to buck up and save it for another time.

For myself, and my fellow lovers of music, and I guess for those who would really prefer not to see it here, I’m moving my music over to another blog. Join me there if you like. And if you don’t, that’s ok too. I wanted a place where I can link to the music I enjoy so much, the places I go to read about it, and to hear it. And I can expound to my little heart’s desire. Purely self indulgent. But now that NaBloPoMo is over and the house is clean and Christmas-like, my time is my own. Yippee! Glad that’s over!

12 Responses to “Glad That’s Over”

  1. Hilary Says:

    Enjoyable post, as always. I like your music posts and will bookmark them too.

    I can relate to the expense of filling the bird feeders. I’ve put a feeder up for the first time this year and am amazed how much they can eat and how quickly.

  2. katy Says:

    well done on the NaBloPoMo, me i am far too lazy to take it on, plus i am not good at writing!
    boy that looks cold, it is the first photo of snow/ice i have seen, we have no choice where i live but to drive up the hills and it can be pretty scarry at time.
    hope the birds enjoyed their feast


  3. The temps were summer-like in my part of Arkansas yesterday morning and throughout most of the day. Got up into the low 70’s. Ugh! I do not like summer temps in December. Yesterday afternoon it began to get cooler. This morning I woke up to 28-degrees!

  4. dilling Says:

    Yikes…stormy here, too. now just good ole regular WET….must check if your music blog in in the sidebar…will have to be there regularly.
    I nearly had a fit not posting this weekend! I nearly did it last night just to do, but then the transformers blew and we were without power…that solved that dilemna.
    You have some brave topics…taking on Blogger like that! Wink.

  5. debi Says:

    People slide into your front yard? OMG! How close do they come to your house? That is terrible. I loved (cuz I didn’t join in) NaBloPoMo. All my favorite people blogging everyday. I got spoiled. I know it’s terrible but I am counting paychecks till Christmas. I have a large family and even though they would all be fine with little or nothing, the Grandkids WILL have presents under Grandma and Grandpas tree. I always manage I don’t know why I still get so worked up. I have all my boxes of decorations sitting all over the living room. Since they have been there for a week untouched I think I need to get a move on. I love it when you share your music. Thank you.

  6. Willowtree Says:

    Yeah sure, like I’m going to listen to anything some clown who used to be a member of Hitler’s Youth says. Any more than I’d listen to his idiot predecessor when he went to both Africa (the epicentre of AIDS) and India (poster country for over population) and told them it was a sin to practice safe sex. (I’m not kidding, he told them that sex was for procreation only, so to use a condom was a sin, what a fuckwit).

  7. gawilli Says:

    Hilary – We have four feeders, two for oilers and two for mixed feed. We had problem with the squirrels bothering the hanging feeders so now we put cracked corn out for them. They emptied them in two days. We can’t keep up with it. If I didn’t enjoy them so much I would stop, but three of the feeders hang outside my kitchen window. I would miss it terribly.

    Katy – We have learned to navigate this hill pretty nicely. People have a tendency to gun the engine instead of backing up a ways and taking it slow. It just doesn’t work. And they are really not interested in hearing it, either. And so it goes.

    Songbird – I don’t mind the cold, really. But the ice was horrendous. I read an article last week that said by the year 2030 our area would have seasons similar to what you have due to global warming. It’s forecast to be in the 20’s here all week.

    Dilling – We thought for sure our power would go out as it kept flashing off and on, but it didn’t. Usually when the lines get heavy with ice it goes. It was hard to be without the computer this summer when it was out for so many days. Glad you are online again. – I was not happy with Blogger. I guess they want to make it as difficult as they can for those of us that have migrated away.

  8. gawilli Says:

    Deb – They don’t get far into the yard, just enough to get some traction and stop. It’s about 30 feet from the house, but only about 10 feet from the big oak. – All of our kids are old enough now that they prefer gift cards so they can do their own shopping. We pick up some things for them, but the days of filling the tree are done here. At least until the next generation comes along!

  9. gawilli Says:

    WT – I was so irritated when I read that news release. The biggest fear I have is of the right wing Christian movement in this country. Where has he been? Certainly not anywhere near here.

  10. mjd Says:

    I never, ever like counting days. Counting days only reminds me of the many things that I have to do in those number of days.

    I look forward to your posts on those topics.

  11. coffeypot Says:

    I think I am going to convert to Jehovah Witnesses every December. That way I won’t have to worry about all this Christmas stuff.

  12. daddy d Says:

    You are ever so productive with two (2) blogs. I will try to keep up because I learn so much by watching and reading your works. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

