Let’s Play Hooky

December 5, 2007

Willi was doing the happy dance last night as the snow piled up. He had picked up his new snow blower on the way home and it was primed and ready to go. Winter before last our old one gave up the ghost. Last winter we shoveled. Several times. Some mornings we set the alarm an hour earlier just to shovel. I was pooped by the time I got to work. So, Toro it is. This was the view from the front door at 5:00 this morning. I love it.

snow-3.jpg

Back in the day I would pray for that early morning phone call that signaled a snow delay, or better yet a snow day. I worked at the school and so we all, the kids and I, would get the day off and it was great. Bundling up, playing until soaked and frozen, then topping it off with hot cocoa, flannels and a warm blanket was the theme of the day.

snow-1.jpg

Now snow delay or snow day both mean drive safe and we’ll see you when you get in. This is the type of morning when I want to play hooky. I liken it to nesting. All I really want to do is stay home, cook something that smells really good, fiddle around the house and do nothing. Except enjoy the outside, from the inside.

snow-2.jpg

It took me 15 years to get an office with windows and today I paid the price. Doesn’t that just make you want to go outside? Or better yet, go home for lunch and not come back?

snow-4.jpg

These kiddos greeted me this evening as I headed for my car. They did tricks for me on their sleds, sliding down the hill backwards or standing up. They egged me on and it was awful tempting. If they were throwing snowballs, I’m sure I would have partaken. They wanted to know if tomorrow might be a snow day. Boy, that sure would be nice. Or better yet, let’s just play hooky.

10 Responses to “Let’s Play Hooky”

  1. Betty Says:

    I love to watch it snow, but I don’t like to have to go out in it. Snow days are good days to hibernate.

  2. Willowtree Says:

    It looks beautiful, but cold.


  3. Ah, the wonder of a snow day. Love ’em, just love ’em.

    I’ve tagged you.

  4. corky Says:

    I would love too, and I’m really ready for some snow.

  5. coffeypot Says:

    I haven’t seen snow in years. I wouldn’t be bad to have some for a day or two – if it isn’t preceded by freezing rain first.

    And I would like to try sledding down a hill standing up, too. But I would have to have skis fit on the legs of Grannydot’s walker first. I would need some form a “training wheels” and her walker seems best.

  6. Tod Says:

    I am so jealous. We have had a week of heavy rain here and it hasn’t really snowed that hard in years.

    Those pictures are great!

  7. Hilary Says:

    Great moody photos. ..which is about the only place I like to see snow… usually. šŸ˜‰

  8. dilling Says:

    I don’t typically like snow…here on the coast, it’s usually heavy and wet, starts melting into a nightmare of a mess almost immediately and then freezes AND we don’t get enough of it for people to know how to drive in it….on the other hand, when I lived in Colorado for a while(and in Eastern Washington), where the snow stayed dry and pretty for a while, I did like it better. It was colder but easier to deal with on the whole.

  9. daddy d Says:

    A new tool to do the snow, nice. To just rest inside for a day would be nice. There might be some snow days yet in this winter, but then they have to be made up in the spring/summer. Well, maybe not. We could just work twice as fast in a smaller number of days. That would be just as productive. The power rating would just go up: same amount of work in a shorter time period. Equal work is equal work.


  10. Oh, you are so lucky to have snow!!!


Leave a Reply

