Seven Random or Weird Things

December 6, 2007

Maya’s Granny tagged me for a meme, “Seven Random or Weird Things About the Great and Wondrous Me”. I don’t consider myself either great or wondrous, but I’m sure I can find weird and random.

1. I don’t have a dishwasher. Well, I do. But it doesn’t work. I vaguely remember it working when I was a kid, but that was about 40 years ago. It’s built into the kitchen and that’s probably where it will stay. I don’t suppose I’ll change at this late date. Judging by the number of people that have told me to get a dishwasher, that must be pretty weird.

tp.jpg 2. I find it near intolerable when the toilet paper is backwards in the holder. No matter where I am. It’s very hard to resist turning it around. This, if you are wondering, is the correct way.

3. Bugs and critters fascinate me. I think this is a result of spending a lot of time with my dad. Or maybe being told to go outside and play when I was a kid. I can’t go anywhere without turning over rocks and dead tree parts to see what’s underneath. I poke sticks in holes and wander along the river banks. If I’m not looking down, I’m looking up which can be a little dangerous. If I find something, I want to pick it up and look at it. That is if it will sit still long enough. If not, I try to get a picture. This brings me to…

4. my need to touch things if I don’t know what they are or how they feel. As Willi says, “You always have to stick your toe or finger in stuff.” I stuck my toe in a droplet of tar on the beach in Corpus Christi and have yet to live it down. And I’m still getting harassed about putting my fingers on a Barrel Cactus. I really think the end result was punishment enough.

5. I don’t do well with committees. They move to slow. First we have to get an idea. Then we have to think about it awhile. Then we have to discuss it. Then we have to think about it some more. Then we have to vote. Next we have to take it to another committee. Then they have to discuss it. Then they have to vote. Then we make a sub-committee to put the plan in action. And nine times out of ten I find out that it was all a formality to move along someone’s agenda. Sheesh.

6. My former husband and I have worked very hard to maintain a good relationship. He is my friend and the father of my children. We have a healthy respect for each other. It has been wonderful for our family. I wouldn’t want it to be any other way. It seems sad that often couples who divorce cannot find in their hearts the very things that were good and brought them together in the first place, regardless of how things turned out. Particularly when there are children involved.

7. Every once in awhile someone will comment on my writing, which I always find interesting because I write just like the words would come out of my mouth. Then I was over at PJ Librarian’s site, which is a wonderful visit if you have an affinity for children’s books, and found the link below. I entered my blog address, and it rated my readability level. I’m not sure what that says about me, or my readers. But there you go. Random and weird.

cash advance


The rules are as follows:
1. Link to the person that tagged you and post the rules on your blog. Did that.
2. Share 7 random and or weird things about yourself. Did that.
3. Tag 7 random people at the end of your post and include links to their blogs.
4. Let each person know that they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

If you would like to share your random and weird selves, please do. And please let me know so I can enjoy.

9 Responses to “Seven Random or Weird Things”

  1. Hilary Says:

    I can fully relate to #6. My ex and I have remained good friends and continue to care for and respect one another. He still attends my family functions and I, his. It works for us.. and especially for our kids. From what I’m gathering, it’s a rarity, but we couldn’t do it any other way. I’m glad to hear that it works for you too. 🙂


  2. Lovely list! I’m not sure about the reading level test — I’ve seen one that said high school today that was not as well written as yours. I’m thinking they judge by sentence structure or something. You write very clearly. I like it.

  3. tod Says:

    That was an interesting read. And I am so with you on the committee thing. I can’t bear the waffling and procrastinating.

  4. gawilli Says:

    Hilary – I’m glad to hear there are more out there like us. It seems like what I hear mostly is bickering about support and custody with kids caught in the middle.

    Maya’s Granny – Thanks for passing this along to me. I enjoyed it. And coming from an educational setting, where writing is assessed by standards and rubrics, writing at an elementary level at my age was a little unsettling! Thanks for the kind words.

    Tod – I’m definitely not a waffler. Which is probably why I don’t do committees well.

  5. daddy d Says:

    The toilet paper, picturesd, was in the holder in the correct way. Any other way is just plain wrong.

  6. G-man Says:

    I was going to say it the same way daddy d did, there is just no other way. I like bugs and critters too, well more like I like to LOOK at bugs and critters, touching them sometimes flips me out. I agree with you on the ability to maintain a healthy post divorce relationship, however my ex-wife had other plans. Things are better now, and I hope my sons see her past behavior for what it was, bitter.

  7. dilling Says:

    I always thought it was weirdness that I DIDN”T care which way the toilet paper went on the roller… hahahaha…whew.

  8. katy Says:

    you are so right with the toilet paper one, but bugs and things oooohhhh not for me!

  9. gawilli Says:

    Daddy D – That’s just what I’m talking about. The right way!

    G-man – Glad to hear things are better. I can tell you from experience that kids see more than we think, and as they get older it becomes clearer.

    Dilling – It is!

    Katy – It’s a weird fascination. I know.


Leave a Reply

