Mail Call

December 14, 2007

They look like ordinary Christmas cards from the outside. They came in the mail today at work. Some of the envelopes had no writing on the outside and some had beautiful pencil drawings of candy canes, Christmas trees, and presents. Complete with names on the tags. Some were sealed and some were smudged, and a little bent on the corners. I think maybe the glue had been licked clean off of some of them. It was obvious to me that great effort had been put into their contents.

cards.jpg

The greatest gift was on the inside. I thought I would share some of them with you. They are from the class that I read to on Wednesday. Their teacher enclosed a note saying that she gave them each a card and they were to choose whether they wanted to send it to a soldier, or me. When they struggled with it, she went out and bought more cards so they could do both. I’m pretty happy about that since I wouldn’t want to miss one of them. And I would hate the idea of a soldier not having the same enjoyment from them as I did. She also wanted me to know that they had not been edited. That’s ok with me. I rather like it that way.

letter-001.jpg

letter-002.jpg

letter-a.jpg

letter-004.jpg

letter-003.jpg

Next Thursday they are presenting a play and have invited me to join them. I have it on my calendar in big red letters. The books they are talking about were little board books I found after I read last year. They were the classic version of The Night Before Christmas. I wasn’t sure they would like them as it seems kids these days find greater pleasure in other things, but that was not the case. They crowded around me as I handed them out and then opened them and began reading, some out loud and some to themselves. I’m looking now for next year’s.

And for the Julia in next year’s class, I’ll try to find a different one!

16 Responses to “Mail Call”

  1. Willowtree Says:

    Well that makes it all worthwhile (except for that little smart-ass Julia!) Just kidding, that’s great.

  2. gawilli Says:

    WT – That’s kids. You never know what’s going to come out of their mouth. Maybe what she really meant was that she already read the one she received. Maybe. Go with me on this one. OK. Probably not.

  3. Betty Says:

    Kids are always honest, aren’t they? But, sweet.

  4. coffeypot Says:

    Those definitely make it worth the effort. Way to go Mrs. GAWILLI!

  5. katy Says:

    how wonderful, now i have tears in my eyes, love these really love them

  6. mjd Says:

    The cards are precious. Occasionally, even seventh graders enjoy being read a story.

  7. tod Says:

    How cute. I bet you loved getting those. The one from Julia really made me laugh though, that is what I would have written too.

  8. Susan Says:

    Aren’t letters from kids just the best! Of course they all wanted to crowd around you…who wouldn’t?

  9. debi Says:

    These are the best. I bet you will keep them forever.

  10. daddy d Says:

    That interaction with the little kids was just super. There is a lot of joy there.

  11. Big John Says:

    Well done MRS GAWILLI. Amazing how they could all print your name so well. 🙂


  12. Thanks for sharing!! I love my precious gifts and cards from my students!! And the hugs!

  13. Nessa Says:

    Now, there’s some wonderful Christmas wishes.

  14. chrisb Says:

    What delightful letters.


  15. That is so sweet. You gotta love their honesty, i cringe just wondering what “innocence” comes out of JC’s sometimes.

    Merry Christmas!


Leave a Reply

