Blanket of White

December 18, 2007

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

This week’s words are White and Life
thanks to Tink over at Pickled Beef.

We woke Sunday morning to a plush blanket of white pulled up snug over all of what had been our slumber. Winter came quickly this year and the leavin’s of Autumn were frozen in time.

shoes.jpg

The silence was deafening. On most days the sounds of busy commuters leak through the trees from the interstate nearby. Wheels were still and drivers became homebound as they waited for paths to become clear.

branch.jpg

The pines hung low under a heavy burden of white. Critters remained fast in their haven and only ventured out as the need for nourishment became eminent.

trees.jpg

Oak leaves stood guard over their frozen domain, stationed evenly but securely in random patterns like threads that hold the quilt in place.

leaf.jpg

Then life happened and our interlude with nature came to a halt. At least for the moment, until she shows us her glory once again.

life.jpg

12 Responses to “Blanket of White”

  1. mjd Says:

    I love your snow pictures. I did this Weekly Words Challenge too. Guess what my “Life” picture is? You know we have news?

  2. dilling Says:

    Beautifully written.

  3. Jay Says:

    Snow is just so beautiful. As long as it doesn’t stay around too long. 😉

    Great pics!

  4. gawilli Says:

    Mjd! No life picture can top yours! I’m so happy all are here, happy, and healthy for this season of love.

    Dilling – Aw, gee thanks!

    Jay – This one is going to stick for awhile. A little dirty now, but here as long as the low temperatures last. I hope we are not all snowed out with Christmas on the way. I’m a sucker for a white Christmas.

  5. Hilary Says:

    Beautifully written, and lovely photos, even though I’ve already seen enough snow for one winter. 😉

  6. katy Says:

    i love to see the snow on branches, i love the snow, well in small bursts that it, great photos

  7. R.E.H. Says:

    I love this WWC contribution. Great pictures, and wonderful little “story” weaved into the comments.

    Those snow-filled shoes make my feet freeze, just by looking at it. And the single leaf in the white of snow was precious!

    Great work!

  8. gawilli Says:

    Hilary and Katy – I NEVER tire of the snow. Bring it on!

    R.E.H. – My sneakers were feet filled that morning. And they were freezing. I started out standing in the garage with my camera and was knee deep before I realized it. It’s funny how a camera leads you around.

  9. Tod Says:

    Thanks for the snow post. The pictures were great and the only way to get my snow fix is through you guys.! 🙂

  10. Tink Says:

    SO beautiful! I really love the leaf sticking out of the snow and the snow-covered trees against the blue sky. Well done! Oh, and thanks for the update on MJD. I’m heading over there right now. 🙂

  11. daddy d Says:

    The snow is the white and the work being done with that snow machine is the life.


  12. I’m so jealous down here in the balmy south!!


Leave a Reply

