Leftovers and Other Thoughts

December 30, 2007

What day is this? I think I missed Christmas. We rushed into it and through it and it seems like months ago now. I missed that part where you relax and reflect. As soon as the last dish was done I began worrying about the completion of a horrendous overhaul of our accounting system in time for the January 3rd payroll. Today I am pleased to report that yes, Virginia, there will be a payday.

But what became of Christmas? Cali would tell you that it was tremendous. She spent two days following everyone around waiting for that tasty morsel to fall within her reach. She has become quite adept at snatching crumbs in mid-air. Forget the two second rule. It never hits the ground. She’s polite enough to wait until it drops, but hasn’t yet mastered wiping the drool off of her face.

caught-in-the-act.jpg

This was her third Christmas, but it was her first to tackle the wrapping paper. Who knew she would find such enjoyment? It was a well kept secret that made its way out Christmas morning. Now if we could get her to clean up her mess we would have it made.

what-a-mess.jpg

Cookie exchange. Great idea. Ten people sign up and bake nine dozen cookies; one for each of the other people in the exchange. You go home with a nice assortment of cookies. A lot of cookies. An immense amount of cookies. What do you do with all of these cookies when everyone goes home?

cookies.jpg

Chex Mix. Note to self: one box of each of the ingredients makes almost four batches. I had forgotten that. Enough said.

chex-mix.jpg

It was a good Christmas, all kidding aside. Willi’s children were with us for the holidays. My daughter Sarah and her husband Mark were here as well. We will see my son later in the month, weather permitting. But I did get to talk to him on the phone, so that was good. We didn’t have Willi’s mom here this year and that made things a little off kilter for me. I enjoy her company and it just wasn’t the same. Although with a brand new great grand daughter, I can’t blame her for staying close to home.

baba.jpg
– – – – – – – – – – –

The closest I can come to Fun Monday this week fits more into the “What’s up with that?” column. Not too long ago my very favorite cartoon was front and center on the Sunday Comics page. Full size, right across the middle of the page.

comics.jpg

Not only did they relegate him to the inside cover, but replaced him with an ad for bedding. Then he started out at the top of the inside page and now has shrunk and slipped clear down to the bottom. I sure hope he can hang on. What in the heck is up with that? Where’s your sense of humor, Post Tribune? Sheesh.

opus.jpg
– – – – – – – – – –

seenme.jpgOn another note, I found out just how patient Willi is today. You see, a fellow blogger had a photo selected for one of their labels by Jones Soda Company. Yep, that’s right. Official label number 7365. It’s kind of neat little thing. You can enter as many photos as you like for consideration. Anyway, I came across a display for Jones Soda at our local grocery store today and how could I not check all the labels to see if his was one of them? I can tell you with relative certainty that his was not on one of these bottles. Just ask Willi.

jones.jpg
8 Responses to “Leftovers and Other Thoughts”

  1. dilling Says:

    i”ll keep my eye out for one….why wouldn’t they just send him one? sheesh.
    wait…did you say Christmas happened? What the?

  2. tod Says:

    That dog looks like she had so much fun…haha!

  3. mjd Says:

    My, my, bless that Willi. He looked at all those labels? We have been looking, but we have never come across that many Jones Soda labels at one time.

  4. gawilli Says:

    Mjd – Willi didn’t look at all of those labels. He waited patiently while I did! Ha! I wish there would have been one there for Luke. Maybe next time!

  5. mjd Says:

    Well, bless you; that is a lot of bottles.

  6. daddy d Says:

    Thanks for looking over all those Jones Soda bottles for Luke. I know he thanks you.

    I also, thank you for the cookies and the Chex Mix. I saved some of them for the Rose Bowl game. It is sad that the Big Ten is not so big in the West.

    But the eats are good and the joy of the afternoon.

  7. Luke Says:

    Oh well, thanks for looking. I really do appreciate it.

    I have spent quite some time looking for the label myself in various stores and gas stations, and I can attest that picking up the bottles to look at each in every four pack is a rather tedious process.

  8. gawilli Says:

    Luke and family – Tedious, but how cool it would be to find one! You never know!


Leave a Reply

