Another one bites the dust…

January 24, 2008

kucinich-s.jpgPolitics suck.

Goodbye, Dennis. Your ideals were sincere and hard fought. I’m sad to see you go. Competition is a good thing, and we needed an alternative, even if you were only a blip on the radar. Now look what we are left with. And one of them is going to be our next President.

Obama, Billary, Huckabee, McCain, or Romney. Edwards, Giuliani, Ron Paul. Who? Money, money, money. Black, white, man, woman, Christian or not. What in the world happened to the issues?

Voters: arm yourselves. There’s a wealth of information out there, but you have to seek it out. Don’t settle for what the pundits sell you on the flat screen. They have an agenda, too.

Here are a few good places to start.

FactCheck .org
OpenSecrets.org

The whole thing is just so depressing. I’m going to bed.

10 Responses to “Another one bites the dust…”

  1. Jay Says:

    Edwards will be the next to go. He’ll get out after he gets creamed in South Carolina. I’m sure he’ll endorse Hillary too. A lot of people will will be disappointed with him for doing that too, thinking that he’s selling out. I will just be vindicated since I keep telling everyone he’s a fraud. LOL

    I think it’s gonna be McCain V Hillary. And it’s gonna be a loooooooong summer.

  2. nessa Says:

    Thanks for the links.

  3. Susan Says:

    I have to agree that politics suck!

    Thanks for the links, I’ve only just started to read up on the candidates and am finding there’s a lot out there.

  4. dilling Says:

    If I ever have enouugh money to buy an island and declare it a sovereign state, I’ll bring Kucinich in to run the place…
    sssshhhhhhhhhh….we must NEVER EVER mention the issues.

  5. the.squirrel Says:

    I don’t like politics — I never have. Everytime there is an election we have ‘election season’… Didn’t sports only have those? Football season… Basketball Season… Maybe the occaisional TV season… Now, it’s ‘election season’ and I know I can look forward to millionaires and the likes doing nothing other than attacking eachother and pointing out everyone’s faults and who did what behind someone’s back and what do these 10 reporters think of that ‘facial expression’ on x candidates face while ‘y’ candidate was talking… It’s all a crock. I think I’ve heard issues mentioned once or twice… They have debates and the whole discussion after the debate turns in to garbage like who slipped that question in right by the CNN people – was it Billary’s camp? GAH!!! These people are more worried about how much money they have to raise to spend to get elected than what the real issues are.

    I look at the numbers (and was one of the people that turned you on to the financial recordkeeping sites) from this election, and I’ve watched the poorest ones die first each time with minor exception. I cringe at the fact that the only way someone gets elected in this country is based anymore on how many smear ads they run and how many more their times own ads run than someone else’s smear ad that smears them…

    I have yet to see an ad that says “This is How I’ll Deal With This”… They all say: “This is what so and so did here, and do you really want them doing that again?”

    I have my qualms about how Bush got into office, but after reading a statement about only 56% of registered voters even voting, well I can only be mad at myself and the other 44% that DIDN’T vote… But I also remember being so burned out with all the ‘hate this candidate’ advertising being shoved in my face every minute that it made my head spin. I couldn’t make heads or tails of who stood for what, and by the end, neither could they (the candidates)…

    I remember in math class about taking nothing and giving half of it to someone… Half of nothing is still NOTHING… So barely half of the country (56% gross) voted then it only took a little over 29% of the gross population to vote this clown into office… because the other 44% of the general population didn’t vote…

    Someday we might take a look back, and I mean BACK into the past about how election propaganda was handled back in the 18th and 19th century… Too bad television advertising screwed all that up…

    I need to stop now… This can go on for hours with me–

  6. the.squirrel Says:

    PS. I love the Billary ding — and it’s TRUE… I have a few of my own, but they probably shouldn’t be posted here (a great play on fundamentalist comes to mind) —

    If we let that camp keep rolling like that, we’re gonna have a real problem… Bill already had 8 years in office. If she gets elected, who do you think is going to be back in there calling shots? Now, what I see is every time someone takes a jab at ol’ Hillary, her boy Bill comes out on TV, and makes an ass of himself. IMO, it’s SOLELY to draw the attention from her. He’s the target and the idiot in the campaign so she can ‘look good’… I had no problem with the Clintons until it started looking like the Clinton Dynasty would be back in the White House… An amendment to read “If your spouse has already been president, you can’t run for the same office due to a potential conflict of interest situation where decisions are influenced by the former officer, which would cross the two-term limit for presidential office” comes to mind… You can’t tell me that her winning will result in her being the president and him staying in the Guest House out back… He’ll be in there thick as thieves with her just like in the old days…

    BAH… I did it again…

  7. gawilli Says:

    Jay – I think you’re right about Edwards. And it’s going to be a long summer.

    Nessa and Susan – You’re very welcome. I have a feed on FactCheck and love it. It helps to sort out the blither.

    Dilling – Can I come, too?

    Squirrel – Don’t hold back now. I want it all. You need a blog. And you know how I feel about not voting. Enough said about that. That’s a good point about the Clinton Dynasty and some restrictions there. Keep it coming.

  8. mjd Says:

    Ah…Billary.

    Yet some choices are much better than others.

  9. daddy d Says:

    I will vote my business…education. That to should be the USA’s business. The one who looks like they are the best for education gets my vote.


  10. Thanks for the links. I will definitely check them out.


Leave a Reply

