What’s up down there?

March 6, 2008

That’s a good question. It was the body of an e-mail from a good friend that I’m sure wonders what the heck I’ve been up to, since I haven’t been very visible lately. Thanks to those of you who have been checking up on me.

Have you ever tried to drive up an icy hill from a dead stop? We have a hill in front of our house that confounds most drivers in bad weather. It’s interesting to watch from the front window of our house. Usually they push the pedal to the floor and spin the tires. The engine races and the snow flies, but they get nowhere at all. Eventually they become frustrated and slip back to the bottom of the hill.

Having grown up in this house I learned the secret of the hill at an early age. I have to back all the way down to where the road is even, maintain a very slow but steady speed and shift into second when I hit the incline. If I’m patient I know I will make it to the top. Then it’s smooth sailing.

That’s kind of the way life is for me. The only thing is sometimes I don’t see the ice on the hill until I’m there. I spin my tires for awhile until I realize that I need to back up and get a little traction in order to move forward.

So, right now I’m in second and moving toward the top of the hill. Pretty soon I will be over the hump and back on level ground. I’ll get there and then all of the thoughts I have been gathering will come spilling out. For the time being they’re a little boggled and the words won’t come. But they will.

Here’s a little chuckle for you. We had an e-mail from Willi’s sister in Texas today. She’s said a little kindergarten kiddo told them during the election Tuesday that there were sure lots of people coming to vote for Alabama!

Life is good. It changes just like the weather, but it is good. You know? It’s all right.

7 Responses to “What’s up down there?”

  1. tod Says:

    Glad to see you back in blogland Gawilli! I was wondering what you had been up to.

  2. dilling Says:

    sometimes skidding on the ice is kinda fun….more like if you are in a big wide open parking lot, as opposed to on a hill….
    drive carefully. see you when you get there.

  3. coffeypot Says:

    A great metaphor. What’s a metaphor? Feeding cows I guess.

  4. Molly Says:

    Maybe you and I need a Florida vacation away from the ice, snow, and slush. Think of it, sitting in the warm sun sipping Pina Coladas.

    Take care. I hope that droves of people start voting for Alabama in the last 12 contests.

  5. Cazzie Says:

    I love the use of the story of your climbing the hill..thing is, we all need to step back a little and just observe, take stock, get a grip..lol…what bthe heck…everything will sure be all right 🙂

  6. daddy d Says:

    As will driving up that hill by your house, a solid momemtum is the key to moving ahead in life over time.

  7. debi Says:

    So happy to see a post from you again. It will be so wonderful when winter finally leaves us this year. I don’t know about you but I have had it with freezing and windy days. My trees seem to think it’s already spring. Pear trees are in full bloom. There goes the pears.


Leave a Reply

