That’s just about enough.

March 9, 2008

I, me, and myself (the three of us) have had it up to the gills with winter. I know what you’re saying. I was the one that did the happy dance when the first flake fell, but I just can’t keep my toes tapping any longer. This has been the coldest, whitest winter in my entire life. That I can remember anyway. Or care to. At least the days are getting longer so there’s some daylight when I get off of work. But that’s about the only redeeming factor I can find right now amidst the various shades of gray. And white.

It finally came to me when I was strolling through my pictures and got a warm feeling when I found this one. Yep. Burrs. A warm feeling about burrs. Lots of them. All over my socks and pant legs.

burrs.jpg

I want to tromp through the weeds and look for cool things, like bugs and other creepy crawlies. And flowers. Remember those? Today Willi and I went to the grocery store and both of us came to a dead stop in front of a bucket of tulips. He said, “I like the red ones. And the orange ones, too. And those pink ones are pretty. Well, I like all of them.” I think we have cabin fever. And flowers from the grocery store just don’t cut it. I need the real thing. With lots of dirt. I want to put my hands in the dirt.

I’m tired of putting my coat on just to take the dog out. I don’t even want to wear my coat any more. And salt. I’m tired of the road salt on my shoes. And I want my hands to be warm. I would like to sit at my desk at work without the room heater on. I want to drive with the windows down and the radio up. And I want to sing really loud.

And I want to sleep with the windows open, with the breeze blowing in. I want to hear the birds in the morning. And the paper hit the front porch.

And the chimes blowing in the wind. I want to hear those, too.

Ok. I’m done now.

Oh, and I want real tomatoes, too. The kind that you can eat like an apple, with a shaker of salt. As the juice runs down your arm. And corn on the cob.

Now I’m done.

12 Responses to “That’s just about enough.”

  1. Molly Says:

    A Florida vacation…we need a Florida vacation or maybe Mexico. Have you been to Mexico?

  2. gawilli Says:

    Molly – Nope. Never been to Mexico, but Florida was nice. It’s just about time for Tin Pan South, so we’ll be headed down to Nashville shortly. Thank heavens. Hope the Dogwoods are in bloom. It is supposed to be in the 60’s there this week.


  3. I don’t think the dogwoods will be blooming any time soon, Gawilli. We’re having crazy weather down South. On Saturday, March 1, it was 75-degrees. I wore shorts and a T-shirt and worked out in the yard all day. On Tuesday the 4th, I woke up to 5 inches of snow on the ground. On Thursday the 6th, another massive snow storm blew through Arkansas leaving up to 15 inches of snow in some places. It was a very strange snow storm. The little froggies that hearld the arrival of spring never stopped croaking. I could hear them hollering while I was walking around taking pictures of snow. But back to the dogwoods…..you never know really what will be hurt by the cold weather and what won’t. When the snow melted off my front flowerbed, I had bunches of purple crocus in bloom. They had to have opened up while under the blanket of snow.

  4. Hilary Says:

    Warmth.. I vaguely remember it. Bring it on! Nice post, Gawilli. 🙂

  5. tod Says:

    I saw the snow you guys are getting on the news today. Great for a couple of days novelty but I can see why you have cabin fever.

  6. G-man Says:

    Now I’m hungry. We dodged a bullet on this last storm. My lovely wife’s family lives in Ohio and they got blasted. (Sucks to be them!)

    I’ll be happy to not wear a coat, but then I will need to find places for my wallet and iPod and other stuff I have filling the pockets.

    Here is to spring!

  7. Willowtree Says:

    Hey, this was a great post G. All the things you listed are the things I look forward to during winter (mind you my winter is nothing like your).

    Tomatoes are the one thing that I must always have in my kitchen, and eating one with a shaker of salt is my idea of heaven.

  8. daddy d Says:

    Today the sun came out about 5:30 PM. It was UP lifing. Before that the sky was over cast. My students fired their rocket out back by the track. It was a good flight. We then collected all the stuff and went back in to the school. Upon coming out, the sun was out. I took that as a good sign that the future flights would be even better. It needs just a little adjustment to be right on the goal height (750 feet)and time(45 seconds).

  9. dilling Says:

    ripe raspberries, warmed by the sun, eaten with the dust still on them….

  10. debi Says:

    We don’t even get winters like you and still I have had it with the whole cold weather thing. Yes, like you I was thrilled to see the leaves turn(my favorite season, fall) and know that winter was a comin. Enough already. I finally figured out how I lost weight. I shivered it off. I actually froze a large part of my big butt off. Now I know, I will be complaining in July about how hot it is and I want fall. But I hope that I will remember this cold winter and shut my mouth.

  11. Freakazojd Says:

    Ha, I so understand this – we got DUMPED on with snow again just about a week ago. I am so tired of it!! We FINALLY had some better weather this week, but I am not enjoying yet because I keep thinking it’s going to snow again, surely. Oh spring, where are you?!


Leave a Reply

