Ah, ah! Oh, no

April 21, 2008

When it rains, it pours. And sometimes it comes in through the roof. Last weekend I had the occasion, don’t ask me why, to look up at the ceiling high above our stairs down to the family room. What I saw were two areas about 18 inches in diameter that were obviously water soaked, but still intact. There were no drips, just ugly messes in the plaster ceiling that we so lovingly patched after the last problem. Which had been fixed about nine years ago. It’s so high up we have to rig a scaffold just to get to it, so I haven’t actually got my hands on it yet. Actually I don’t know that either of us will this time. We’re not quite as fearless as we were back then. So in addition to the roofer, we will probably require the services of another to tear out the wet spots and repair them. Glad we got our vacation in, otherwise we might have called it off.

It’s funny what you think of when something like this happens. The kind receptionist at the roofing company assured me that no-one needed to be at home when their representative came to measure. I told her I assumed the leak was where the two portions of the roof were joined, at the rear of the house. I didn’t tell her this, but I also fully realize that it may be time for a new roof in general. As I laid in bed last night thinking about the cost of college tuition for two kiddos, combined with the cost of a roof, my mind drifted to someone planting a ladder in the back of the house. I immediately began to worry about the Trillium that have tripled in number on the ground directly beneath the culprit sheets of roofing. I’m sure that is where I would set my ladder if I had to climb up, so it only goes to figure he will do the same. This morning before I left for work, I made a makeshift sign warding off any trampling of the Trillium. Hope he sees it.

My mom would have appreciated my concern for her old roof, but more importantly, our precious Trillium. After all, she was the one who first brought them to my attention. As I drove off to work, I found myself singing an old song we used to sing together. I figure the Serendipity Singers would forgive my changing the words as little.

Ah, ah! Oh, no, don’t let the rain come down
My roof’s got a hole in it and I might drown
Oh, yes, my roof’s got a hole in it and I might drown

There was a crooked man and he had a crooked smile
Had a crooked sixpence and he walked a crooked mile
Had a crooked dog and he had a crooked spouse
They all lived together in a crooked little house

Well, this crooked little man and his crooked little spouse
Saved their crooked sixpence for roofer for the house
He’ll bring some crooked nails and a crooked little bat
And try to fix this roof with a rat-tat-tat-tat-tat

So this crooked little man and his crooked dog and spouse
Will all live together in a crooked little house
That has a crooked door with a crooked little latch
And a crooked little roof with a crooked little patch

Ah, ah! Oh, no, don’t let the rain come down
Ah, ah! Oh, no, don’t let the rain come down
Ah, ah! Oh, no, don’t let the rain come down
My roof’s got a hole in it, my roof’s got a hole in it
My roof’s got a hole in it and I might drown

6 Responses to “Ah, ah! Oh, no”

  1. Hilary Says:

    Agh.. roof and ceiling repairs. I hope yours resolves with less mess and fewer problem than mine did. I remember that song well!

    White trillium is our provincial flower (Ontario).

  2. dilling Says:

    Ah, my Uncle Vern called them Easter Lilies and laid firm the law that I must never, ever pick one as they would never grow again in that spot, and such a loss to us all that would be(and many other lessons of nature and her habits)…he lived in the house on the hill next to my grandmother who taught me lessons about garter snakes and roses…and dirt and more good stuff.
    We have a leak when the wind bringgs the rain in from the “other “direction AND a hole to patch in my venetian plaster on the ceiling in my walk in closet which we just finished renovating!!!!

  3. tod Says:

    Holes in the roof are a major nightmare. Getting a man in to do the repairs is a much safer option.


  4. save the tillium! yes.

  5. daddy d Says:

    There is always something that needs fixed. I am glad you got to it before it got to you. One step ahead is the way to be.

  6. Molly Says:

    Oh no, I am sorry about the water troubles. Your sign and the old song make me smile. I hope the Trillium survived and that were offered a fair price of the roof repair.


Leave a Reply

