On Priorities

June 12, 2008

There’s this guy at work that kind of oversees those little fix-it type projects that come up from day to day. He has this habit of telling those of us who would like some kind of commitment as to a finish date, “You are not a priority.” It’s kind of interesting how that works because over the past few years that phrase has trickled down to those that work with him. And the rest of us are so use to hearing it, that we now just finish the sentence, if we even bother to ask.

Setting priorities has always been a problem for me because everything seems like one. This is a hazardous path that leads, at least for me, to maximum density – the sorry state that occurs when the only thing to do is work until there is nothing left for me, or my family. The remedy, when I finally realize what has happened, is down time. Ironically enough, I was forced into down time by the need to take vacation days – or lose them. So I did. In fact, we both did. Last week. I left work that Friday afternoon with a desk full and didn’t come back until a full nine days later, with a new list of priorities. And work isn’t one of them.

Don’t get me wrong. I still give it 150% while I am there, but the laptop stays on my desk when I go home. Granted, it has only been four days, but so far it’s working out pretty good. It was hard to go cold turkey, and I found myself walking a circle around even my home computer, but it was well worth it. I’ve had to draw a few lines in the sand, but I have stood my ground. They have posted for another position, and I am promised one more to follow. I guess the squeaky wheel sometimes does get the grease. That’s a good thing, because this tire was just about tread bare.

So here is my new list of priorities.

I’m going to plan some meals that will take full advantage of the herbs we planted amongst the flowers in the planters alongside the house. Dill, Parsley, Oregano, Rosemary, and Basil. That ought to keep me busy for awhile.

I’m going to sit on the balcony, with Willi and Cali, and watch the sprinkler wash over the garden we planted last week. The tree we cut down last summer had left us only shade. So we took full advantage of it’s absence by extending our patio another five feet and planted some vegies.

Already the peppers and tomatoes have promise of a fairly nice yield. And you know how I love real tomatoes. The kind that are red, juicy, and run down from your hands to your elbows when you eat them with a shaker of salt. Now that’s what I call a priority.

Next, I am going to pull the weeds that grow up between the beans. I learned this from my farmer friend, who taught me how to “walk the beans” back in the day. Our little patch of beans isn’t much more than two or three steps broad, so that shouldn’t be too difficult.

If things get really slow, I’m going to count the blades of grass as they sprout. Finally, after many years of dust, we will have turf. Well, sort of. The Creeping Charlie has pretty much had it’s way with what was left of the lawn. But at least it has some pretty little purple flowers. Lemonade from lemons, you know.

I honestly can’t say how much you will see of me. When the sun goes down I have been spending time with Willi, rather than sit at this computer. So please don’t think that you are not a priority, it’s just that there are so many others and I am trying to put them all in the right place.

Like this one, who will need more of my time as days go by – moving household and having a grandson in just a few short months. And this one, who I hope to be hearing from real soon. And Willi’s ones who will be with us this weekend. They would have to move to the top of anyone’s short list.

Particularly mine.

14 Responses to “On Priorities”

  1. WT Says:

    I love this type of post, god for you!!

    Blogging in the southern hemisphere is a real bitch because of the seasonal differences. When you guys come out of hibernation and leave the computer to spend time outdoors, I go in the opposite direction.

  2. WT Says:

    Ooops! ha ha ha! That was supposed to say “good for you”, not the kind of typo a non-theist likes to make!

  3. gawilli Says:

    WT, you are the best! You always make me smile. Thanks for the kind words.

  4. Hilary Says:

    Happy to see your post and happier still to know you have good stuff keeping you busy. Enjoy it all! 🙂

  5. daddy d Says:

    Nice work in the back. I like the new space. Take care. I think you have the whole deal figured out.


  6. gosh I have been gone a while myslef, and I am back with a new name too.
    of course we miss you, but time spent with our loved ones is the best time in the world x


  7. Glad you are happy in your little patch of heaven! Keep those priorities straight! As you could see from my recent post, I’ve been spending most of my summer vacation time outside.


  8. Awwww that cute Milk &Honey of yours…

  9. Susan Says:

    Good for you for figuring out your priorities. Now stick to them!

  10. Cazzie Says:

    I love it, good for you, and good for yourSELF too, getting back to nature always prioritises things, I love spending time outdoors with the kids and the dog and my friends. That is the reason I love ridign and walking every day. You catch things you would otherwise miss when you are driving in a mad rush to get somewhere.

  11. dilling Says:

    time suddenly seems in scant supply for me lately… it takes my breath away how busy i got so fast!

  12. tod Says:

    I’m glad you got your priorities all sorted out. 🙂

  13. debi Says:

    Oh boy! How glad I am to see you have left us a post. I am happy you have been going and doing. We all need a break. Joe and I have never had a real vacation in 20 years. A few years ago we went to Texas to his family reunion but thats it. Next month we may actually go someplace just for a few days. Don’t I sound like i wanna go? When the time comes my fear of leaving the house for that long will set in and I will spaz. But I will go.
    You garden is lovely. I have 1 tomato plant. The heat is pretty bad this year. Cannot wait for the new baby.

  14. dilling Says:

    how IS that grass growing down there????


Leave a Reply

