Something So Right

July 22, 2008

It’s been such a long time, I almost forgot how to do this! But this is the first time in quite a while that there seems to be something worthy of posting about. Maybe this will get me going again. Who knows? I sure have missed everyone.

In January of 2007 I wrote about how my mother’s Christmas Cactus gifted us with a few splendid blooms, rather unexpectedly and a little late, but welcome just the same. For as long as I can remember, this cactus was at the center and front of the big picture window at my mom’s house, the same one we call home. Every winter we would enjoy the reassurance her flowers would bring in the dead of winter when every other bit of green was buried in snow.

It took me a good long time, after my mother died in 1993, to be able to look at what was left of her life in this house. Shelves and shelves of books, jars of buttons and boxes of fabric, projects in various stages of completion. And the clothes still hanging in the closet. I had made countless trips that started with determination, but ended in a sort of overwhelming numbness, pulling the door shut and locking it for another time. There was just a glimmer of life left in her Christmas beauty by the time my darkness lifted. All the other plants had given in, but this one had held on just long enough for me to come around. Interesting how it worked out that way.

I took her home and nursed her back. It sounds silly, but the steady growth was nourishing for me as well. Eventually the seasonal blooms returned, and after 15 years her size has almost doubled. This year she was full of warm pink blooms that remained long after the holiday. When it was warm enough this spring, we moved her to the back porch where the morning sunlight is softly filtered. At first it was a little unnerving to see her bright green fade, but in a few days she began to shoot out new growth, and I knew we were good to go until fall. I giver her a drink every once in a while, and she does the rest.

Tonight as Willi was standing at the grill, a small bird darted over his shoulder and landed in a tree, not far from the back porch. Then he began to hear little voices coming from behind. Following the sound, we soon discovered why the bird remained so close at hand.

Sheltered under the cover of my mother’s Christmas Cactus we found a nest full of feathery little beauties. And as the birth of my grandson draws near, this gift of life just seems to be something so right.

15 Responses to “Something So Right”

  1. dilling Says:

    aren’t the messages we receive breathtaking?

  2. WT Says:

    Hey, nice to see you again. I hope it not always things long between drinks.

  3. tod Says:

    It’s good to have you back. What a cute little nest of birdies.

  4. Hilary Says:

    You evoked goosebumps, tears and a comforting sense that all is right. Lovely post.

  5. gawilli Says:

    Dilling – they certainly are. Food for the soul.

    WT – Nice to see you again also. I’ll try to do better.

    Thanks Tod. It’s good to be here.

    Hilary – All is right. Or getting there anyway. Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Molly Says:

    Yes indeed, the nest of young birds in your mother’s Christmas Cactus is a wonderful sight as well as a wondrous event. Sometimes things do seem so right at the right time. I am looking forward to the birth of that grandbaby. Take care, dear friend.


  7. hi stranger, you have been missed x
    what wonderful sight the little birds nesting in such a special plant.
    how long now till the baby is born?

  8. gawilli Says:

    Thanks, Molly. Your good thoughts always feel good.

    Li’l Wanderer – The unltrasound said September 5, but the doctor is sticking to September 14.

  9. Susan Says:

    You came back and made me cry with your beautiful post!

  10. corky Says:

    Welcome back! I look forward to reading about the adventures of your grandson.

  11. Tink Says:

    Aw! That’s a sign if I ever saw one. πŸ™‚

  12. debi Says:

    Now that’s a sweet post. That’s the biggest Christmas Cactus I have ever seen. It’s story touches my heart. It is much like my own story of dealing with the loss of my moma. After 26 years I still have a few moments each week where for just a second I forget and think “I gotta tell Mom about that”. I love those moments.

  13. Freakazojd Says:

    I don’t think there’s anything silly in there at all – what a beautiful post.
    How many weeks left until your grandson’s arrival now, 6? How exciting!!! πŸ™‚

  14. coffeypot Says:

    I guess it means that life still goes on. A little empty from the loss, but it still goes on. I believe that is why we have grandkids – to fill the holes left by the loss of others. Or to dwindle our savings account. I can’t decide which.

  15. Cazzie Says:

    What a miracle finding! I am showing my kids this picture in the morning. Nice to see you πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

