It won’t be long now…

August 31, 2008

Thursday evening Sarah came by. The difference in the fullness and position of her tummy in only a few days was amazing. She lifted her shirt so that I could see more clearly. I ran my fingers over the place where the baby gently rests.

This morning as I showered I was wondering if she had any pictures of this wonderful time in her life. Back in the day, we wore clothes that would hide the beautiful curves of our bodies; large pieces of fabric gathered on to a bodice that modestly indicated that a baby was on the way. Today we celebrate those changes in our bodies. And what a wonderful thing that is.

I was delighted to find that while I was sleeping, she and her friend were capturing this moment in pictures. They are the most beautiful gift for Sarah, Mark and the baby. And for me, too. I love every one of them.

Any day now, we will be holding a beautiful baby in our arms. But for now, I want to savor the wonder of my daughter, with all of her hopes and dreams of what is to come. Beautiful. Don’t you think?

12 Responses to “It won’t be long now…”

  1. Hilary Says:

    Extremely. I love pregnant bellies. I love that many young women don’t try to hide them these days. Those casual shirts that don’t quite cover the curves, and accentuate the wee one’s presence are quite lovely. Unfortunately, I know very few people who disagree and who think that bare, pregnant midriffs are unattractive. To each his/her own.

    Looking forward to hearing about the day when you’re holding this new darling.

  2. Hazel Says:

    She is beautiful. What a great memory those photos will be one day. During my 4 pregnancies there is exactly one photo of me, snapped by my brother-in-law as I waddled to the car on the way to deliver my first born. I am grateful to him for the foresight.

  3. tod Says:

    Wow, what amazing pics!


  4. pregnancy is truly wonderful and beautiful.
    the last photo is my favourate.
    bet you are all setting so excited!
    ps i am the new her indoors x

  5. debi Says:

    Finally! I check her blog each day just in case. I even went to my calendar to check how many weeks now. They call that stalking don’t they? Well, I was excited thats all. Now I can calm down. Oh yes, the pictures are so lovely. I love the thoughtful look on Sarahs face in the B&W. You can never go back to this time again and I think it’s important to save it for all time. I am so excited for you.

  6. dilling Says:

    they are gorgeous photos…i imagine that baby can feel the ease of nature through Sarah’s eyes….

  7. Susan Says:

    Such beautiful photos…I’m so glad that she felt comfortable enough to have them taken and to be able to keep and treasure this beautiful moment in her life forever.

  8. Molly Says:

    I have been thinking of you and Sarah. The pictures are beautiful. Sarah looks lovely. I am looking forward to hear the good news about your new grandbaby.

  9. Tink Says:

    How exciting! This post gave me chills.

  10. Freakazojd Says:

    Yes, absolutely beautiful!! And what is equally beautiful is her mother’s excitement. I wish my mom had been this excited when I was pregnant (or now) – Sarah is really lucky. 🙂 I can’t wait to hear more – I’ll definitely be checking in, especially now that she’s only about a week away!! Thanks for sharing the photos.


  11. I loved, loved taking photos of Sarh pregant. She glows and it was so easy to take photos of her.

    Those are some of my favorites too!

    Any day now grandma, any day!


  12. ps, I can’t spell in the last post, I was just so excited that you loved the photos!


Leave a Reply

