The waiting

September 16, 2008

is the hardest part. According to the little ticker on the lower right hand corner of the monitor its 11:23 p.m. Make that 11:24. Sarah and Mark made their way to the hospital at 7:00 to induce labor. Contractions reached the 5 minute mark at 8:30 and have since subsided. So they relax and wait. And so do the rest of us that patiently watch. And wait.

It is such a mixed bag of emotions. Excitement, anxiety, love, hope and dreams. It is so hard to be here when my daughter is there. To be the mom from a distance, even though she is minutes away, has to have been the most difficult part of her growing up for me to get comfortable with. I’m not altogether there yet. This is a feeling that she too will have one of these days. And it seems to have come so fast. Too fast.

It looks like it will be awhile. I’ve been keeping up with her Twitter posts and they’re “maxin and relaxin”. So I will, too. But you can bet I will have one eye open and the phone next to the bed. You never know when the call might come that means pull your pants on and come runnin. And I will.

Sarah, if you read this, you’ll get a giggle. I was wasting time over on YouTube and came across a couple of songs from the search “baby”… here, and here. I knew you would like the second one. And here’s the one I was looking for when I got sidetracked. I don’t think this was what Tom Petty had in mind, but I’ve been singing it over and over again these last few days…

“The waiting is the hardest part. Every day you get one more yard. You take it on faith, you take it from the heart. The waiting is the hardest part. Yeah, yeah!”

I love you, honey.

4 Responses to “The waiting”

  1. debi Says:

    Ah Gene, I am really happy for you all. Yes, the waiting is rough. I am keeping my eye on twitter too. Wow, not long now.

  2. dilling Says:

    i have no twitter but will check in again soon.
    fingers crossed.
    best wishes.
    much happiness.

  3. katy Says:

    you so right the waiting is full of all emotions it is torture isn’t it.
    hope to be hearing ‘it’s here’ real soon x

  4. Molly Says:

    Waiting with you…


Leave a Reply

