Just once around the block.

December 15, 2008

This is a little like riding a bike. I can remember how, even though it has been awhile. But now that my feet are back on the pedals, where do we go? A gazillion things have happened since the last time I posted on a regular basis, and I still don’t know where to point the handlebars, which is why you haven’t seen much of me in awhile.

Probably the best place to start is with an Asher update. He’s nearing the three month mark and every time I see him there is something new and exciting happening. He’s holding his head up pretty good now. In fact he turns his head to follow voice, or motion. And I am happy to report that he has a great smile that can no longer be attributed to gas.

I was a little hurt to see that he found his pout, and used it on me a few weeks ago. But then last week he used it on someone else and was happy back in my arms, so I guess that’s ok.

bumbo

There’s some pretty cool stuff out there for moms these days. This seat is formed from a soft rubber kind of stuff that supports the baby so he can sit up, when in reality he’s really not ready yet. It allowed us to have a bit of a conversation while I got dinner ready not too long ago.

I’ve also been experimenting with Sarah’s slings, which are kind of like a papoose, except the baby is in the front rather than the back.  I had my first real experience with this last week at the grocery store. Within minutes he went from fussy to sound asleep. I could carry him, but have my hands free to fill the cart. How cool is that?

mom-to-asher

The thing that I have enjoyed the most really doesn’t have a thing to do with me, except as an observer. Maybe even an intruder. Every so often I witness a moment where the only two people that matter are a mother and her child. No one else is in the crowded room, but the two of them. What a rush.

asher-to-mom

So, there you have it. That is where my mind has been lately – a pretty good place to be.

So what did you think about that journalist throwing his shoes at the President?

12 Responses to “Just once around the block.”

  1. Betty Says:

    Asher sure is a cute little guy! Glad you back blogging a bit. I’ve missed you.

    I thought the shoe-throwing was hilarious, but I wondered where in the world the secret service was. That was a bit worrisome. I hope they’re more on the ball with President-elect Obama.

  2. tod Says:

    It looks to me like you were having a wonderful time watching your grandchild grow. It’s good to see you back in blogland though.

    Personally I think that it would do ALL our leaders a bit of good to have us throw shoes at them occasionally. This could be the start of something…

  3. dilling Says:

    it IS a good place to be….
    and i would gladly give up a pair of my size 10 fluevogs…

  4. daddyd Says:

    Babies really grow in a hurry. Pictures are a must to keep up with the changes. The mind stays in the present and pictures help to bring back the past. Joy and love for sure.

    P.S. I think very little about the present President, shoes or no shoes. It is the next guy’s turn. And that will be a better deal for the USA as a whole. Yeah!

  5. Molly Says:

    Here you are…right back where you belong spreading joy and cheer with pictures of your beautiful grandson. 🙂


  6. Love all the pictures of Asher!!

    Given the chance I would throw far worse things than my shoes at the president!!!

  7. Michelle Says:

    I’m disappointed George was fast enough to duck the shoe.

    Asher is cute!

  8. freakazojd Says:

    I’m so glad to see your update! Asher is indeed a beautiful little boy, and I know exactly what you mean about those wonderful moments between parent-and-son where no one else seems to exist for that pocket of time. I cherish those, especially now that my little guy is ALL! OVER! the place and ALL! AT ONCE! Haha! Congratulations, Grandma – so great to read about how in love with him you are, as well. How is it watching your child become a parent? 🙂
    xo

  9. corky Says:

    Your grandson is so very cute! It’s good to hear from you and I hope you will continue to share your love from time time.

  10. Tink Says:

    That sounds like an awesome place to be.

    I hope your holiday went well. Happy New Years. Here’s hoping 2009 brings you continued happiness.

  11. katy Says:

    hi gosh is he really 3 months, well four month now! He is so cute but then you already know that!
    I am back riding the bike! hope to see some more from you real soon x


Leave a Reply

